“It had a Main Street lined with stores”

Last Friday was absolutely awesome.  Kate from A Tale of Two Closets was in Florida, so I met up with her in downtown Sarasota for an awesome afternoon of thrifting and yarn shopping.  We went to SPARCC Treasure Chest and Mustard Seed Thrift Shop, and had some awesome finds (you can see mine in my shopping plan post).  After that, we went to Picasso’s Moon and bought some beautiful fiber.  Kate bought her first spindle, and I taught her the basics of spinning.

It was such an awesome, fun day.  This was the first time I had ever met a fellow blogger in person.  Kate and I had a great time talking about life, style, knitting and kitschy Florida decorating.

Have you ever met a blog-friend in real life?  What did you do together?

Blouse: Anthropologie
Cardigan: Ann Taylor LOFT
Jeans: Express
Shoes: Dansko Sally (courtesy of Dansko)
Purse: Timbuk2
Necklace: Garage sale
Bangles: Jill Popowich Designs

Quote: Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs, by Judi Barrett

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping, Outfits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “It had a Main Street lined with stores”

  1. Paula says:

    How does one go about learning to spin. There aren’t any classes available here.
    .-= Paula´s last blog ..[TILT] 11. 03. 2010 =-.

    Like

    • Diana says:

      I’ve never actually taken a spinning class before. I learned by watching videos on You Tube and reading books on spinning that I got from the library. There’s lots of online resources available for learning how to spin. I will say though, that my spinning greatly improved once I watched someone spinning in real life. Look around for knitting groups in your area – often spinners hang out there too, and usually they’ll be more than happy to share their craft.

      Hope that helps!
      -Diana

      Like

  2. Sally says:

    How fun that you taught a blog buddy the basics of spinning! Many of my knitting friends spin their own, and I’m always so impressed with their commitment.
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Reader Request: Color Combos =-.

    Like

  3. Kate says:

    It was so fun getting together in person! 🙂 I’ll hopefully get to doing my write-up today – we’ll see if I have time here at work.

    BTW, I spun all day on Saturday; I didn’t forget how! 😀
    .-= Kate´s last blog ..Tweet, Tweet! =-.

    Like

  4. Shybiker says:

    That’s so cool!

    I made one of my best friends in real-life after reading her blog. We now hang out together all the time.

    Like

  5. Kristin says:

    The Mustard Seed in DC used to be one of my fave thrift shops when I lived there!

    Like

  6. Kay says:

    Hi Diana. I recently discovered your blog and I love it! I love how you talk so much about finding your style and what that means to you. You have a very honest, open way about you and I really enjoy your posts.

    As a mom to a toddler, I’m struggling to find the balance between looking how I want to look and being practical for afternoons at the park and hours spent on the floor playing with blocks. I spent the first year of my daughter’s life in the equivalent of sweats because I was always getting messy from spit up, baby food, or runny noses, but then I realized that a cute cotton top in a flattering cut is just as washable as a ratty t-shirt, and jersey skirts are just as comfy as yoga pants. I still have a lot to figure out. For example, a cute skirt and low heeled boots is fine for a day of errands, but when we go to the park, I need to be in pants and flats. I’m also trying to make peace with my post baby body and that some of the things I used to wear on a regular basis before my daughter just aren’t going to work for every day anymore. I’ve read back through all of your archives and I’m doing a closet inventory like you did to try to find my own wardrobe gaps and also trying to think about what kinds of looks make sense for me on a daily basis.

    I have a few questions for you. You mentioned a few times how long it takes you to pick out an outfit. Do you ever plan ahead or do you prefer to see how you feel on a given day? Mornings are hectic for me with my daughter. I like the idea of picking an outfit that suits my mood that day, but that often leaves me frazzled when she’s anxious for breakfast (two-year-olds are not good at waiting!) I’m wondering if there’s a way to compromise?

    Also, I have zero sewing skills, but I love seeing how you’ve managed to tailor pieces to your shape. Do you have any general advice about what kinds of things can be fixed with tailoring? I’ve been trying to do more thrift store shopping (for me and my daughter!) and I often find things that almost fit but not quite (too long, too shapeless, etc.) Obviously if pants or skirts are too long they can be hemmed, but what other things can be fixed and what things can’t? I have a similar shape as you (tiny waist, wide hips, large bust) so I like tops to have some shaping to show off my waist and not just make me look as wide as my hips, and I often have fit issues with pants especially, and also with button down tops (gaping in the bust, fitting in the bust but shapeless at the waist).

    One more question and then I promise to stop bothering you. I LOVE how you mix color in your outfits. As I go through my closet, I’m seeing a lot of repetition. I guess I’m drawn to the same colors over and over. I want to add some bright colors, but I’m a little nervous. I’m really not sure what works for me and what doesn’t. Did you just experiment with colors until you found ones that you liked and were flattering to your coloring? I’m a fair skinned blonde, so I often feel like certain colors wash me out. I happen to love bright yellow (like your Fluevogs!) but I’m afraid to wear it because I’m not sure it will work on me. I have a coupon for 30% off at Old Navy for a four day sale this weekend and I’d like to try to find some brightly colored tops that will be cute and practical for spring.

    Thanks again for your blog. It’s so refreshing and honest the way you talk about everything. I’m a size 12/14 so I love to see how confident you are and how you know what works for your body and what doesn’t. It’s nice to see that confidence from a style blogger who isn’t a size 0. Since I’m also on a budget, I love seeing how you buy things that aren’t all designer pieces, but also that you know when to make an investment. I think you’re beautiful and amazing!

    Like

  7. Its always so fun when you get to meet up with other bloggers. I have actually met up with 6! Usually we meet for drinks or thrifting/shopping.

    Like

  8. Looks like you had a great time! I haven’t met any blogger friends in real life yet (I plan to soon!), but I have hung out with friends who blog, if that makes sense.

    I love your top — it looks stunning on you!
    .-= JoAnn, Sidewalk Chalk´s last blog ..Aquamarine, or Dress #17 =-.

    Like

  9. Little Miss Lee says:

    Thanks for loving my Birks! Not many do, but teaching all day KILLS my feet!

    I am crossing my fingers that I will get to meet a blogger friend one day! You are both so lucky!
    .-= Little Miss Lee´s last blog ..I couldn’t find THEM! =-.

    Like

  10. Sherin says:

    Looks like you 2 had a wonderful time. I’ve met bogging friends before and it is so much fun!

    Like

  11. alechia says:

    I think I have the same blouse from Anthro- hahahahaha! I love it, and I love this outfit. Fun and lively!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Fat-Bottomed Beliefs =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.