“Lots of sunshine today”

The weather is definitely warming up.  This was the first day where I started with tights and then had to ditch them.  While I’m happy that it’s spring, I have mixed emotions.  It feels great to not have to wear four layers just to leave the house, but at the same time, I feel so exposed without all my winter layers.  I know I’ll get used to it.  Spring is wonderful and bittersweet at the same time, because it means that my boots, tights and sweaters will once again be hidden in the back of my closet til October.

But the weather is so beautiful right now; I can’t stay grumpy for long.  We only get a few weeks of spring here in Florida before the brutal summer temps start to hit, so I want to enjoy these glorious days in the 60s and 70s while I can.  It is wonderful to be able to wear a light cardigan and have bare legs.  Soon it will be so hot, that I will be sweating like crazy after standing outside for five minutes.

I guess I’m just really mixed on my weather preferences.  Maybe I should live somewhere like San Diego.  The weather was so fantastic there when I visited back in October.  But then I would probably miss Florida.  I guess the grass is always greener.

Still, I’m feeling great, and I’m so excited to start my new job next week.  It will be so great to finally have a regular job with regular hours (and regular pay!).  I’d always fought the concept of a 9 – 5 (or in this case, 7 – 4) job but right now, I think that consistency is what I really need.  One day, I would love to own my own business (a vintage shop maybe?  or start an indie clothing line? or be a professional photographer?) but for now, this is really, really what I need.

How do you feel about the changing of the seasons?  What would your ideal climate be?

Dress: Ella Moss (via My Mosh Posh)
Cardigan: Anthropologie
Shoes: Dansko Sally (courtesy of Dansko)
Purse: Vintage via Advintagous
Ring: Belonged to my grandmother
Earrings: Coryell Design

Quote: Do Like Kyla (Orchard Paperbacks) by Angela Johnson

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to “Lots of sunshine today”

  1. Paula says:

    My ideal climate would be southern california or better yet southeastern france/cote d Azure. Not too hot and not too cold and usually sunny. Fortunately Stuttgart in Germany also has a rather mild climate and while we do have snow sometimes and really hot days sometimes, these are outliers. I couldn’t stand being somewhere were it actually had snow all winter.
    .-= Paula´s last blog ..[Persönlich] Zeug. Einfach weitergehen. =-.

    Like

  2. EvaNadine says:

    love the pictures of you playing in the leaves and the closeup of your jewelry — how lovely!
    im a fan of warm weather, and frankly, i dont think id be sad if i never saw the cold again. mid-60s to upper 80s are great for me. alas, the DC area did get hit with the worst snowstorm in history this year… oh well…
    .-= EvaNadine´s last blog ..Flower Power… =-.

    Like

  3. Sherin says:

    Congrats on the new job!

    I love how it’s getting warmer. I was really starting to get sick of wearing a ton of layers everytime I went out.
    .-= Sherin´s last blog ..Political Sherin =-.

    Like

  4. alechia says:

    Very nice, and I love the length of this dress on you. I almost never see you wearing something short without leggings on, so it was a definite surprise. As always you rock the style!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Fat-Bottomed Beliefs =-.

    Like

  5. Suz says:

    What a perfectly springy outfit! I am looking forward to wearing such outfits – it hasn’t *quite* been warm enough in Ohio yet. Today is looking good so far though!

    My ideal climate: San Francisco. Cool and mild all year. Parfait!
    .-= Suz´s last blog ..Colorshow =-.

    Like

  6. Sally says:

    Oh I hear ya – I’ll miss my boots! But definitely looking forward to warmer temps and new looks.

    Love how that yellow bag adds a zip of bright color to this ensemble.
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Reader Request: Color Combos =-.

    Like

  7. leia says:

    You look so lovely! that bag is perfect.

    Like

  8. Love the ruffles peeking through!
    .-= Elaine, clothedmuch´s last blog ..Red Stems =-.

    Like

  9. alisha says:

    I would love to live somewhere where it was cool enough for boots and light jackets and warm enough for sandals and a simple cardigan and sundresses. Oh thanks for featuring an African American book in your quote.

    Like

  10. Amy says:

    This is absolutely my favorite outfit of yours so far…. I love that dress, the cardigan is beautiful, the bag is perfect… Wow, you look amazing!!

    xoxo
    .-= Amy´s last blog ..It’s Raining, It’s Pouring… =-.

    Like

  11. I’m on a black/white kick lately and this looks great with the added colors.

    I think my favorite weather is 70 degrees. Very comfortable.

    Like

  12. Kelly says:

    Love those ruffles and that cardi (and the two of them together!)

    My ideal climate would be 80 degrees and sunny!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..St. Patrick’s Day =-.

    Like

  13. Bianca says:

    Oh gosh, lets see, I love this whole thing. that cardi just rocks my world and I love, love love that yellow frame bag! So pretty!!

    Like

  14. I love the ruffles and the blue cardi is just so darling!

    I have a feeling that while there will be some nice days here in the Midwest, boots and sweaters and tights might be making pretty frequent reappearances for the next few weeks. Part of me would like to move back to a warmer clime, but I do enjoy having four distinct seasons.

    Like

  15. katrina says:

    Diana, i LOVE your Ella Moss dress. i know i sound like a broken record, but i do. the stripes, the neckline, the shape — perfection. i hope to find a dress very much like it.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Bloganista: Happy St. Patrick’s Day! =-.

    Like

  16. katrina says:

    oh, and don’t even get me started on your yellow purse…
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Bloganista: Happy St. Patrick’s Day! =-.

    Like

  17. katrina says:

    sorry, one last thing: CONGRATULATIONS on your new job!!! 😀
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Bloganista: Happy St. Patrick’s Day! =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.