Shopping Plan: Week 7

*Week 7 of My Great Shopping Plan of 2010, where I attempt to stay on a budget and fill out my wardrobe*

I kind of strayed a bit from gap filling this week to make it the week of amazing deals on cardigans and dresses.  I bought three dresses and two cardigans without going over budget (counting birthday gift money).  None of these were explicitly on my gaps list, but they will all be really great for wearing to my new job, so I’m okay with that.

J. Crew Green Cotton Cropped Cardigan, $20 on eBay
Gap filled: Cropped cotton cardigan

New York & Co Baby Blue Cropped Cotton Cardigan,  $4.50 at Classy Consignment
Gap filled: Another cropped cotton cardigan

(Isn’t that second picture so cute?  I’m so happy with how it turned out)

I’ve decided that one can never have too many cardigans.  Since my closet space is so tight, I’ve actually re-arranged my dresser drawers so that there’s an additional section for cardigans.  I didn’t really have any truly cropped cardigans before, so I am pleased as punch with these.  I didn’t have any cardigans in these colors yet either, so all the more reason to get them.

L to R:
Boden $16 (via eBay)
Ann Taylor Factory Store $12 at Classy Consignment
John Martin Studio $12  at Classy Consignment

Gaps filled: 3/4 sleeve dress, summer sun dresses, work clothes

Like cardigans, I also feel that one can never have too many dresses.  All of these will work wonderfully at my new job, or on the weekend.  Classy Consignment is a great store that I used to frequent all the time, but now that I live on the other side of town, I don’t get out there very often.  There were having a sale on St. Patrick’s Day and I was in the area, so I happily stopped by and scored some great clothes.

I also bought a zebra print bangle for $1.50.  I didn’t get a picture of it, but I’ll definitely be working it into an outfit soon.

After last week I had $19 of budget money left, plus $90 of birthday money.  I spent $24.50 on cardigans, $40 on dresses and $1.50 on a bangle.  That leaves me with $43  of birthday money left.  Yay!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shopping Plan: Week 7

  1. Shybiker says:

    Since you landed the new job, you seem really happy. The smiles in your photos are bigger and even the photos themselves are more joyful. I suspect you were carrying anxiety about your career which has now been released. It’s good to see you blossom — the perfect attitude for Spring!

    Like

  2. Cecilia says:

    The cardigans have wonderful colors and I’m envious of at least one of the dresses 😉
    Great job on your shopping ban .
    .-= Cecilia´s last blog ..An unusual week =-.

    Like

  3. You got some great things at great prices! Gotta love that.
    .-= Kim, The Closet of Kim´s last blog ..Can We Agree On Something? =-.

    Like

  4. Kelly says:

    I love both of these cardi + top combos. The cami(?) in the top photos is particularly flattering on you. Good luck with your budget!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..Disclaimer/Discloser =-.

    Like

  5. eyeliah says:

    pretty dresses!!! and yes, one can never have too many cardigans, I whole heartedly agree. 🙂
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..5 Days of Symmetry Challenge ~ Style Me =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.