“Merci, mon ami”

I soon as I bought this breton-striped tee, I knew that I would have to create a French-inspired outfit with it eventually.  The navy stripes look fantastic with pops of red, and the corduroy blazer helps it look polished.  I loved wearing this so much.  I’m very drawn to classic European styles.

The other thing I really love about this outfit is the necklace I’m wearing.  It belonged to my grandfather.  He was Catholic, and he wore this while fighting in World War II (I think he was at Guadalcanal, or one of the other Pacific battles).  It’s a St. Christopher Medal; he’s the patron saint of travelers, and wearing this is supposed to protect you.  I’m not Catholic, and I don’t really believe in the power of wearing objects to protect you, but I still think it’s a neat story.

I know a lot of people prefer to keep jewelry they have inherited tucked away in jewelry boxes, because they’re afraid of damaging them if they wear them out. But I see wearing items like this as a way of connecting with my past, with those I have lost.  I was only nine when my grandfather died, but wearing this necklace helps me to feel like a part of him is still here.

How do you feel about wearing items that you have inherited from family members?

Blouse: J Crew (via eBay)
Jacket: Coyote (garage sale)
Jeans: Gap Curvy
Shoes: Born Codder
Purse: Morelle Truffle
Necklace: Belonged to my grandfather

Quote: Anatole over Paris, by Eve Titus

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “Merci, mon ami”

  1. christy s says:

    I love, love, love wearing inherited jewelry. I was fortunate enough to inherit one of my grandmother’s jewelry boxes. It’s fantastic! Turns out, she loved costume jewelry as much as I do. It really helps me stay connected to her. Same for my father. He left me the jewelry that was most important to him and I love it as much as he did. As soon as I get a battery for his retirement watch I’ll be wearing that on a regular basis. It’s such a wonderful way to honor those who have passed on before us. And, as for your outfit. Fabulous!
    .-= christy s´s last blog ..Weekend Musings =-.

    Like

  2. EvaNadine says:

    i think actually wearing/using items that were inherited from family members is the BEST way of paying tribute to them! if they loved the piece enough to give it to you, im sure they would want it worn, not left somewhere to collect dust. even if it gets ruined, at least it was ruined while being enjoyed.
    .-= EvaNadine´s last blog ..Giveaway… =-.

    Like

  3. Kristin says:

    Oh, I’m all about wearing those pieces! Yes, I’m a little more careful with them, but I love feeling connected to their past, and mine as well. Also, it puts a little bit of yourself into the item, so one day maybe someone will fondly recall you when they wear it :o) Fantastic necklace.

    I love your happy jumping pictures lately! Smiles abound!
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Plumage – Subtlety =-.

    Like

  4. Sally says:

    Tres chic!
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Trust in Style =-.

    Like

  5. Alechia says:

    Very cool indeed! Love it and I think you look very modern.

    Like

  6. Kelly says:

    I like to wear inherited things. But I do have a section of my closet dedicated to things that I inherited and can’t bear to give up, but don’t quite have the balls to wear in public (super fancy 40s hats and such – they’re awesome but they’re just a bit too much for my life now!)
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..Whitest Weekend/Champagne Saturday =-.

    Like

  7. Lauren says:

    Such a pretty and chic outfit! I love it, although I couldn’t put my finger on what exactly it is about it that makes it looks so wonderful!
    .-= Lauren´s last blog ..Losing the vibe =-.

    Like

  8. What a lovely story behind your grandfather’s necklace. I’m hesitant to wear heirlooms because I’m afraid I’ll damage them or lose them.
    .-= JoAnn, Sidewalk Chalk´s last blog ..Tricky patterns, or Dress #25 =-.

    Like

  9. Oh I really need to get a breton striped tee for my own ensembles, too! I love pieces like that necklace with sentimental value.

    Like

  10. Keely says:

    I love the stripes and neutrals with the red. And what a lovely bag.

    Like

  11. ana says:

    I just love your jewelery, they are so fairy like:)
    .-= ana´s last blog ..Happy places, sunny faces =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.