“Double-decker strawberry ice cream cone”

Wow!  Now that I’m working full time at a job where I actually have something to do eight hours a day, I’m finding myself with significantly less free time.  I really love my new job though.  I love what I’m doing, and the hours seem to fly by because I always have something to be working on.  I’m just having to learn how to budget my time outside of work.  It’s hard, because I have so many things that I love doing.  I love to blog.  I love to workout.  I love to cook.  I love to knit and watch movies with my boyfriend.  And while I don’t love it, I also have to take care of everyday tasks like cleaning, grocery shopping, laundry, etc.  And fitting all of these things into the hours between 3:30 pm (when I get home from work) and 9:00 pm (when I go to bed) is no easy task.

I don’t want to give up doing the things I love, so I’m finding compromises.  Some days, I’ll go to the gym and not have time to comment on blogs.  Some nights, I’ll stay in and catch up on the blogosphere.  I’m learning quicker recipes to cook during the work week, and saving the more complicated stuff for the weekend.  I’m still wishing I had about five hours more in every day, but I’m learning to live with less free time.  The fact that I love my job helps a lot.

In order to keep myself from stressing out, I’m changing up my blog posting schedule a bit.  Starting this week, this is what I’ll be posting: Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays will be daily outfits.  These are my favorite posts to write, so I don’t want to cut back on them too much.  Wednesdays are Etsy Love, because I love supporting handmade.  Saturdays will just be Links a la Mode.  On occasion I will post feature articles on Saturdays, but they won’t be regular.  And Sunday’s will be Shopping Plan posts.  Changing things up will let me still post daily, without feeling stressed out.  I love this blog, I love the blogging community, and I do not want to stop.  I just have to cut back a bit.  I’m still visiting other blogs and commenting, but not as much as I used to.  I still love and appreciate all my readers, and I try to visit your blogs as much as I can, but please understand that often I won’t have time to read blogs until the weekend.

How to you budget your free time to make room for all the things you love?

Blouse: Anthropologie
Cardigan: Fossil
Jeans: Gap Curvy (altered by me)
Shoes: Born Sokal (via eBay)
Necklace: Jorgensen Studio
Purse: Morelle Charlotte

Quote:  Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Double-decker strawberry ice cream cone”

  1. Sherin says:

    I had the same thing when I started my job, but I really appreciate my evenings and weekends.
    I love the outfit as well: it’s a gorgeous top.
    .-= Sherin´s last blog ..Quentin Mackay Press Day =-.

    Like

  2. Struggler says:

    Oh my gosh, ditto, ditto, with nearly everything you said. I’m feeling totally over-committed and it’s mainly because I started too many side projects during a very dull spell at work.
    Your hair looks lovely today and I’m a big fan of your pink cardi!

    Like

  3. alechia says:

    Don’t take on too much- but yeah I feel the same way. I love the outfit, LOVE IT, I cannot tell you enough but that cardigan on you is magical. You look amazing!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..The Time Stop List =-.

    Like

  4. Shybiker says:

    Time-management is hard, but essential. Too many people get overwhelmed and surrender their personal pleasures to their work-demands, a decision they later regret. Find the time to do the things you love: you’ll need the enthusiasm they create to bear the burdens of work.

    And great cardigan!

    Like

  5. Kelly says:

    It sounds like blogging is stressing you. Don’t let it! I can’t imagine anyone getting on your case about reading blogs *when you can* and posting what you want, when you want, when you can. I don’t know that I necessarily manage time better than anyone else, but I rarely have a schedule for myself. I mean, I know I want to go to yoga class on X day and I have a party to go to at X time but as far as my unscheduled free time goes, I let it stay unscheduled. So every day when I get home from work I can think “Do I want to spend time baking tonight? or watching a movie? or blogging? or reading?” and if I choose reading….well, then my blog just has to wait another day. No biggie!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..It’s an elephant. With an umbrella. On a tightrope. Made of pearls. Held up by ribbons. =-.

    Like

  6. First of all let me say that I’m a big fan of this outfit. The top and the long cardi are a match made in heaven!

    Do you have a crockpot? They can really come in handy for preparing dinner during the week.

    I watch almost no tv so that really frees up time for me to blog, read blogs, and to read other things, etc.

    Like

  7. eyeliah says:

    Schedules help so much don’t they? I don’t know what I’d do without one now!
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..One Thing I Can Tell You Is You Got To Be Free =-.

    Like

  8. girlxoxo says:

    Yay for bright colors. I HAD to have a blogging schedule with my other blogs to make things work – and a realistic one at that. But it also helped that I said no matter what, my computer would be off at a certain time, unless it was for fun instead of blogging – believe me, the work still gets done.
    .-= girlxoxo´s last blog ..Abstract Find =-.

    Like

  9. Kristin says:

    That plum color is so delicious on you!

    Like

  10. katrina says:

    i have a similar cardigan from F21, in a deeper shade of purple.

    i’ve been pondering over that same question, too Diana — about schedules and time… i’m still working on creating a consistent schedule for everything. i make schedules, but tend to follow it loosely. as much as i want to think of myself as spontaneous, i’m afraid that a strict schedule is in order at this time.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Taco Likes Pink Chewies =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.