Shopping Plan: Week 8

*Week 8 of My Great Shopping Plan of 2010, where I attempt to stay on a budget and fill out my wardrobe*

Since I didn’t really focus much on filling up any wardrobe gaps last week, I felt that I should use the last $43 of my budget money (er, birthday money from February) on something that would fill a gap, something that could be useful at my new job.  And then the most amazing eBay deal ever fell into my lap.

J Crew Super 120s Blazer
$40!!!!!!! on eBay

Gap filled: High quality blazer

Yes, that really says $40.  Yes, those really are the original tags.  A brand stinkin’ new J Crew blazer.  These things are $238 on the website people.  I could not believe that I got this.  J Crew blazers rarely show up on eBay, and when they do the price usually gets bid up beyond my range, or they aren’t in my size.  But I was the only person who bid on this one.  Wow.  Albeit, the extra pocket flap is a bit weird, and it’s a bit longer than I prefer.  But even after I pay my tailor to fix those problems, it will still be less than half the original price.  Now I just have to find a J Crew Super 120s pencil skirt in charcoal in my size at a reasonable price.

I was also the lucky recipient of two wonderful gifts this week.  Two months ago, I saw Jen of Jen Lovs Kev wearing an adorable robot necklace from ModCloth, and I immediately wanted it.  I sent my boyfriend a link telling him it was what I wanted for my birthday, and dropped constant hints about how much I would like a robot necklace.  Then, it sold out on ModCloth before he had the chance to order it, and I was so sad.  I resigned myself to not getting a robot necklace.  And then my super-smart boyfriend did a search on Etsy, and found a necklace almost exactly the same as the one on ModCloth.  I don’t think it really counts as homemade, but I don’t care because it’s freakin’ awesome.  It shipped from the Philippines, so I just now got it this week.  Love.

Robot Necklace from Love Spell Jewels on Etsy

Gap filled: Super awesome robot necklace

I also received a lovely gift from Kate of A Tale of Two Closets.  I met up with her a few weeks ago when she was in Florida, and gave her a skein of my hand-spun yarn.  She sent me a lovely thank you note, and included a bracelet from her mom’s Etsy shop.  Thanks Kate!

Rainbow bracelet from Accidental Artists

Gap filled: Stone bracelet

So I had $3 of b-day money left at the end of March.  Since I’m starting a new job, I’m raising my budget next month from $125 to $175 to spend on clothes.  I’m going to try to focus on beefing up my working wardrobe.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Shopping Plan: Week 8

  1. Amy says:

    I must have a gap my wardrobe too…I don’t believe the “super awesome robot necklace” gap has been filled in mine either!! Off to Etsy I go! Great finds again this week 😀
    .-= Amy´s last blog ..Ouch!!! =-.

    Like

  2. alechia says:

    That blazer looks like an awesome deal, can’t wait till we see pictures of it! The robot necklace is AWESOME, and lastly, I love that bracelet too. New additions rock!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Bringing Sexy Back- Food Style =-.

    Like

  3. girlxoxo says:

    Love love the necklace! And I have to laugh at Amy’s comment – yeah, my “super awesome robot” wardrobe gap hasn’t been filled yet either 🙂
    .-= girlxoxo´s last blog ..Abstract Find =-.

    Like

  4. Holy cow! What a great find with that blazer and that robot necklace is so cool! (I loved the ModCloth one, as well.) I’ll be excited to see how you build up your work wardrobe over the next couple of months.

    Like

  5. ambika says:

    Wow, that jacket is an amazing bargain. And I adore the robot necklace–the little clock is such a clever detail!
    .-= ambika´s last blog ..Steve McQueen’s Living Room =-.

    Like

  6. Ana says:

    Looove the necklace:))

    Have a suuny day
    xo
    .-= Ana´s last blog ..Happy places, sunny faces =-.

    Like

  7. eyeliah says:

    Great job!! And that it’s charcoal and not black makes it even better.
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..It’s Just the Power to Charm =-.

    Like

  8. I can’t believe you got that blazer for $40– and in great shape and no other bidders either. That’s amazing!

    The robot necklace is super cute. Can’t wait to see how you style all these cool pieces.
    .-= JoAnn, Sidewalk Chalk´s last blog ..Lazy Sunday, or Dress #28 =-.

    Like

  9. Struggler says:

    Stunning find with the jacket! And the robot necklace is just so cute, no wonder you are in love with it 🙂

    Like

  10. Bianca says:

    Awesome! I love the blazer deal!@@ Congrats

    I really can’t wait until for the shopping for work posts. I love seeing what people buy. Its so fun!!
    .-= Bianca´s last blog ..Inbox Roundup =-.

    Like

  11. katrina says:

    lucky girl! i’ve been on the look out for a sharp gray blazer, too, and your ebay find tops any of the ones i’ve seen.
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Cityscape =-.

    Like

  12. Pingback: Smiles Go With Everything » Blog Archive » Shopping Plan: Week 10

Comments are closed.