“Sings and stings its swinging song”

Usually, I tend to mix many different pieces and elements into my outfits.  But sometimes, a gorgeous patterned dress, a great pair of heels and some earrings are all you really need.  I think I’ve decided that I could have a closet full of Boden dresses and great shoes, and I would be pretty happy.

This gorgeous dress was one of my recent finds on eBay.  I decided to keep things simple for my first wearing of it, and let the dress shine.  Since there’s so many colors in the print, I think it will have many remixing possibilities.

Do you like to wear printed dresses on their own, or do you mix them up with other items and accessories?

Dress: Boden (via eBay)
Shoes: Tsubo Acrea(via eBay)
Earrings: wear+thou

Quote: Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin (Aladdin Picture Books), by Lloyd Moss

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to “Sings and stings its swinging song”

  1. Clare says:

    Woweee. That dress is amazing. Oh, and I’ve been meaning to tell you how happy you’ve looked in your pictures lately. 🙂

    I usually opt towards the major layering, but there’s something so crisp about just wearing a dress and heels.
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..And the Colors Mix Together =-.

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    That dress is gorgeous! I love Boden…an old work colleague of mine worked as a buyer for Boden and it’s meant to be the nicest place to work, just so cheery and friendly. Doesn’t it reflect in the clothes?!

    Like

  3. EvaNadine says:

    while i do love experimenting with accessories, i do love a great printed dress for the fact that you can just throw it on and look fab. the colors of this one are great for you!
    .-= EvaNadine´s last blog ..They Call me Mellow Yellow… =-.

    Like

  4. Heidi says:

    Beautiful dress! What is the material? I like the way it drapes! Also, which do you like better the red Tsubo shoes you are wearing or the red Born Codders? (for comfort, style, and versatility?) I’ve been admiring the Codders you wear so well, but now I think I like the Tsubo (but are they heels with heel strap?)

    Thanks!

    Like

  5. Heidi says:

    Also, do you know what year and what the style name of that dress is? I am guessing you can’t buy it on the website anymore…just have to luck out finding it on Ebay or elsewhere? I also LOVE your Boden blue flowered skirt! Love it!! If you have that skirt name so I can search on Ebay that would be fantastic!

    Like

  6. Shybiker says:

    The dress is very pretty and certainly does stand on its own. The only thing I’d do to enhance its appeal is add white stockings which would bring out its multiple colors.

    Like

  7. Sally says:

    The cut of that dress is just fantastic on you, doll. And I think letting it shine on its own is brilliant.
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..This Week I Love … =-.

    Like

  8. I love this outfit. The colour, print and cut of the dress work perfectly on you.
    .-= overcaffeinated´s last blog ..And the mommy’s heart grew three sizes that day =-.

    Like

  9. Franca says:

    it’s wonderful!
    .-= Franca´s last blog ..Two outfits with the same green shirt =-.

    Like

  10. Struggler says:

    Good grief, another Boden find? That’s awesome! I do agree with you in this case, the dress is such a superstar that you don’t really need much else with it.
    .-= Struggler´s last blog ..The Zen of Dresser Staining =-.

    Like

  11. Chelsea says:

    oh oh! this dress is outstanding! what’s so great about it is that it has such great colors AND mixes patterns for you! I love it with those snazzy red heels and pretty earrings 🙂 i struggle with remixing my printed dresses, but sometimes you just gotta let ’em shine!
    .-= Chelsea´s last blog ..Guest Post on Between Laundry Days! =-.

    Like

  12. Amy says:

    Such a pretty dress, Diana! It is so perfect for Spring…you are lucky Spring has already arrived there; it is still Winter here in Boston. Sad! 😦

    xoxo
    .-= Amy´s last blog ..PB &J Fantastic! =-.

    Like

  13. eyeliah says:

    It’s so true for me too, it’s nice to dress simply from time to time.
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..Style Me Submissions =-.

    Like

  14. Kristen says:

    That dress is AWESOME. And I know a thing or two about an awesome dress. 🙂 Ohhh, I am pea-green with envy over here. Enjoy it, you wear it well.
    .-= Kristen´s last blog ..Monday: Treat your Girls Well =-.

    Like

  15. Bianca says:

    For sure you and Boden are a great match! Love this dress on you. Pattern is super fun, and perfect fit too!!

    Like

  16. Ahh, I love this dress! Everything about it is perfect.
    .-= JoAnn, Sidewalk Chalk´s last blog ..Back in black, or Dress #29 =-.

    Like

  17. qin says:

    You are so good in colors 🙂

    Like

  18. Em says:

    I love your dress! It is awesome and you look awesome in it! So flattering…..

    Like

  19. Keely says:

    So cute! I just love it. Aren’t those Tsubos just the best ever? I tend to add a cardigan and a necklace to printed dresses, but they are usually nuetral or solid. I’m not a brave pattern mixer.
    .-= Keely´s last blog ..Late Appt =-.

    Like

  20. k says:

    that is a great dress – lucky find! i have been wearing printed dresses with other layers lately, but i think that’s in large part for warmth – i’m look forward to wearing a dress all on its own with just a pair of sandals!

    Like

  21. alechia says:

    You look awesome, this dress is so great on you and refreshing. I love it!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Strawberries Take the Cake =-.

    Like

  22. Cecilia says:

    That dress looks fabulous on you.I think you did well in letting the print shine and you , of course 🙂
    .-= Cecilia´s last blog ..Styled by Oranges and Apples =-.

    Like

  23. katrina says:

    egads! you look stunning, Diana. that dress is a beauty!!
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Taco Likes Pink Chewies =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.