Shopping Plan: Week 9

*Week 9 of My Great Shopping Plan of 2010, where I attempt to stay on a budget and fill out my wardrobe*

Since this week marked the beginning of a new month, I started off with $175 (my new budget amount since I got a new job) plus $3 left over from last month.  Here’s what I got this week.

Born Sandals
$20 on eBay

Gap filled: Strappy flat sandals

Strappy flat sandals are a spring and summer must for me.  Last year I wore my Born Savory sandals nearly everyday, to the point where the leather straps in the back got stretched out too much and started giving me blisters.  They were great sandals, but when you wear something everyday for several months, it will start to wear out.  So I was looking for a replacement and found these beautiful white sandals.  When people talk about butter-soft leather, they’re talking about these sandals.  I can’t see them ever giving me blisters.  They don’t offer quite as much support as the Savory’s did, but I’m okay with that.

J Jill Slacks
$11 at The Spring Boutique

Gap filled: Casual slacks

I’ll start off by saying that The Spring Boutique is really a thrift store, not a boutique.  That being said, they have some really nice formal wear, suits and a small room of vintage items.  I ended up lucking out in their casual section with these slacks which fit fantastically.  They have a small stain near the hem, which knocked a couple dollars off the price.  It was still a bit more than I prefer to pay at thrift stores, but the money goes towards domestic violence shelters, so I don’t mind too much.  I tried washing them several times to get the stain out, but I think it’s stuck there.  I’m going to try taking them to my dry cleaners to see if they can get it out, and if they can’t, I’ll just turn them into capris.

Tulle Dress
$63 at Penelope T Boutique

Gap filled: Casual jersey dress/tunic

This was my find of the week.  I was checking out a local boutique before going to yoga last week, and found this gorgeous dress.  The color is vibrant, with a subtle green and white dot pattern.  The fit is wonderful.  It’s a bit on the short side, but the fact that it’s pretty modest on top helps to balance that out.  I love, love, love it, and I’ve already planned several future outfits incorporating it.

So, I spent $20 + $11 + $63.  Which makes $94 spent, $84 left.  Okay, so I spent a good bit this week.  I’ll have to be a bit more careful with my spending the rest of the month, but I’m still very happy with what I bought.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shopping Plan: Week 9

  1. I know exactly what you mean about wearing flat strappy sandals every day in the summer! It looks like this new pair will be perfect for that.

    Like

  2. J. says:

    Such gorgeous pieces! You look ready for summer!

    Meanwhile, I need to get ready. On the list are some flat strappy sandals too. I was thinking black strappy, but now you’ve got me thinking white and other colors!
    .-= J.´s last blog ..are you happy now? =-.

    Like

  3. Those sandals are lovely, makes me wish I had a pair ready for summer! The blue dress and yellow bag work wonderfully together.
    .-= alltumbledown´s last blog ..Oldie but Goodie =-.

    Like

  4. Those flats are just adorable with your look and I love the sandals that you got!

    Like

  5. MusingAround says:

    Great post! I love this idea. Totally need a pair of sandals like that….

    Like

  6. eyeliah says:

    great sandals, I have a similar pair I wore so much last summer and I am itching for the weather to warm up just to wear them again.
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..Don’t Give Up On Me & I Won’t Give Up On You =-.

    Like

  7. Suzi says:

    One of the guys I work with swears by Dawn dish detergent. He says it gets everything from grease to pasta sauce out of your clothing.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Smiles Go With Everything » Before and After: J. Jill Slacks

Comments are closed.