“To the tips of her toes”

The many possibilities a simple black and white dress lends never cease to amaze me.  I’ve remixed this dress so many times, I’ve lost count.  Last weekend, I wanted to wear it in a way that reflected the freshness and vibrancy of spring.  I added a bright green cardigan, raspberry accents, and some white sandals.  I felt gloriously springy all day – much more so than if I had gone with my traditional weekend uniform of jeans and a nice blouse.

That “belt” is actually a square silk scarf.  I folded over diagonally several times to create a long strip, and then tied it around my waist, hiding the ties underneath my cardigan.  I love how it created a sash effect and added a nice pop of color.  I tried different ways of incorporating into the outfit by tying it around my head, on my purse, etc, but this was my favorite out of all those looks.

What accessory have you used in a non-traditional way before?

Dress: Express
Cardigan: J Crew (via eBay)
Scarf (as belt): Vintage
Sandals: Dansko Sela (via eBay)
Necklace: Kira Ferrer
Bangles: Jill Popowich Designs
Ring: from my mom

Nail Polish: Mint Candy Apple by Essie

Quote: I Love It When You Smile, by Sam McBratney

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “To the tips of her toes”

  1. girlxoxo says:

    Love how what you used the scarf as a belt and added pops of color to that gorgeous dress. I’m noring with my accessories and tend to use them in the regular way 🙂
    .-= girlxoxo´s last blog ..Dressed or Skirted =-.

    Like

  2. What a lovely, springy outfit! I sometimes like to use an earring as a necklace or a scarf as a belt, as you’ve done here.

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    I love the scarf belt! Very resourceful 🙂
    .-= Jen´s last blog ..Dear Kate =-.

    Like

  4. Sally says:

    The neckline of that dress is so sweet!
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..How to Wear Long Skirts =-.

    Like

  5. alechia says:

    Ok, I LOVE your pictures today. You just look so amazing, and the outfit of course works awesomely together. I mean- wow! Hmm- once I had to cut my chef pants to fit properly, and I used the leftover bits and made a headband. It was so cool! Alright it needed work but it was kind of creative.
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Apple my Crisp =-.

    Like

  6. Piper says:

    Another great outfit – great idea with the scarf – the color is awesome! and btw…i’m seriously in LOVE with the necklace. i’ve been wanting one like that. i’m off to check out her shop :)!
    .-= Piper´s last blog ..{shake it up – week 14 scoop} =-.

    Like

  7. Kirafashion says:

    so cute in green!!!
    You eye color is also so beautiful!!

    all my love girl 🙂
    .-= Kirafashion´s last blog ..WEARING THE BROGUES! =-.

    Like

  8. Kelly says:

    Did you change your makeup or something? Because you look super extra pretty in the closeup shot!
    .-= Kelly´s last blog ..secret candy stash =-.

    Like

  9. Franca says:

    I love this dress! Great how you styled it too!
    .-= Franca´s last blog ..Dig for Victory – amazing vintage inspired dresses =-.

    Like

  10. I love the polka-dots with the pop of red and green!
    .-= Elaine, clothed much´s last blog ..Button a Pop =-.

    Like

  11. Jen says:

    Ooh, love this – especially your green cardi. I have one in a box somewhere between Australia and NZ and I really want it!

    Like

  12. Clare says:

    I love this dress, and the pops of color are great. Love the nail polish, too!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..In the Evening =-.

    Like

  13. Bianca says:

    Very Springy, and I LOOOVE the polka dots! 🙂
    .-= Bianca´s last blog ..URBAN DECAY 30% off FRIENDS AND FAMILY =-.

    Like

  14. Cecilia says:

    Besides you’re totally on trend with the polka dots 🙂
    .-= Cecilia´s last blog ..Dressing during Easter Weekend =-.

    Like

  15. Natalie says:

    This outfit really speaks to me! You gotta love black and white polka dots with a pop of color! Totally fab dress too!

    Like

Comments are closed.