“Shopping at the shop-o-rama”

I’ve been having a wonderfully relaxing spring break.  I can’t believe it’s almost over.  It’s been great to catch up on little projects around the house, get some reading done and sleep in until the luxurious hour of 7:30 everyday (I normally get to work at 7:10 every morning).

I’ve also had time to do a good bit of shopping, looking for some new work essentials.  And I’ve noticed how my shopping habits have changed.  I tried going to the malls several times this week, looking in various stores for some great blouses, slacks and dresses.  But in every store I went to, I ended up coming out empty handed.  Sure, I would find stuff to try on, but an element wouldn’t fit right, or I wouldn’t like the print, or it would be too expensive.  I’m very willing to alter or have altered cheaper items that I find, but if I’m already paying $74 for a dress, I want it to be perfect or almost perfect to start with.  Even though I have the money to actually buy things in the mall now, I still don’t find shopping there very satisfying.

Then I went to some of my favorite thrift stores, and found a few great gems at each one.  Like this tunic that I’m wearing today – it was a mere $6.  Sure, I had to sew up the neckline a bit so that my girls don’t fall out, but that wasn’t a big deal.  I found some great work dresses too, and some shorts that are long enough to wear to the field day coming up at my school.  So I guess I’m starting to find that I really, truly love second-hand shopping more than mall shopping.  There’s not anything wrong with mall shopping, I just often find it unsatisfying.  I like it when I already know that the store will have exactly what I want, like my Gap Curvy jeans.   But other than that, I like the thrill of the hunt and the excellent deals that come with buying second-hand, in real life or online.

(And of course, I love shopping at local boutiques and buying handmade as well.  I like it when I actually know who I am supporting with my money.)

Do you prefer shopping at the mall or second-hand shopping?  If money wasn’t an issue, would that change your mind?

Blouse: Tammy Mars (thrifted)
Capris: Express (altered be me)
Sandals: Clarks (via 6pm)
Necklace: Kira Ferrer
Earrings: Mackie Jewelry
Bangles: Jill Popowich
Purse: Morelle Oyster

Nail Polish: Essie Calypso

Quote: Llama Llama Mad at Mama, by Anna Dewdney

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Shopping at the shop-o-rama”

  1. Meli22 says:

    Based on where I live, I am forced to shop in stores or online more than I can thrift. I live in an area with a lot of people who live below the poverty line. The thrift stores around here are usually extremely poor pickings. I could go to the bigger cities (2 hours or more away) and try better neighborhoods, but gas is expensive and I am also living frugally. So far online shopping balanced with in-store shopping when there are sales has been the only real option for me.
    .-= Meli22´s last blog ..What I Wore 04/15 Feels like a monday =-.

    Like

  2. Kendra says:

    I prefer mall shopping, and esp. outlet mall shopping. I have never once had luck at a thrift store. I think thats because I get too overwhelmed by the huge, disorganized selection. If I could find a boutique style consignment near me I would love to try it though!
    .-= Kendra´s last blog ..Mood Ruffles =-.

    Like

  3. I love them both, but I am with you 100% that if I’m going to pay very much money for something it needs to fit me really well. I don’t mind spending money to have something that I thrifted for a few bucks altered, but I resent having to do it with something that took a bite out of my budget already.

    Like

  4. EvaNadine says:

    i do have some trouble at thrift/consignment/second-hand stores sometimes because of my size — i find plenty of adorable pieces, but so often, they are just way too small for me. i DO however have quite a collection of amazing shoes i have picked up thrifting!
    that said, im more open-minded to altering thrifted pieces — its such a low cost most of the time that if the project goes awry, theres no huge loss. thanks to the academichics, i have been thinking of finding some pants to turn into bermuda shorts…
    .-= EvaNadine´s last blog ..A Toe in the Water… =-.

    Like

  5. Sally says:

    Wow, chica, look at you catching some air in your awesome new tunic!
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Makeup 101: Cheeks and a Healthy Glow =-.

    Like

  6. Kristin says:

    superbly executed jump!

    I’m pretty new to the thrifting scene, but I must say that having the combination of both thrift and retail shopping is the best of both worlds. I sure won’t be thrifting underwear and running shoes, for example.
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Plumage – Swathed in Jersey =-.

    Like

  7. Shybiker says:

    You sound so relaxed and happy! How nice.

    The tunic is perfect and your leap is delightful!

    Like

  8. I find I’m in the same position as you: I really don’t like shopping at the mall any more. I love the thrill of finding a super-expensive high-end item for a ridiculously low price, and I love the treasure-hunt aspect of sorting through all the dross! For the most part, I’m very dissatisfied with the cost-to-quality-and-originality ratio of the goods currently on offer at most stores in the mall.
    .-= fashiontheorist´s last blog ..Rockabilly =-.

    Like

  9. tiffany says:

    sounds like you got some great finds! That red looks great on you. I wish we had some sun like in your pictures, it looks fabulous!

    Like

  10. alechia says:

    The red looks wondrous on you! Well I did spend a fair amount in the mall with you the other day and I was glad to have you along for assistance for sure! I like mall shopping but that’s because my only thrift experience has been with you- and being from a big ole’ city like Boston, I never really got out and about to thrift stores. So I cannot really say- but I always enjoy shopping!!!
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..C’s those Girls =-.

    Like

  11. Natalie says:

    That top was a great find! I’ve only done a little thrifting myself and haven’t had much luck. I don’t know if it’s just the area I live in or me being too picky? I’m still learning what works for me and what doesn’t, so trying to find something in a thrift store feels like trying to find a needle in a haystack. Maybe I need to be more willing to alter something to make it fit.
    .-= Natalie´s last blog ..What I wore today =-.

    Like

  12. Amy says:

    Wow, chica, look at you catching some air in your awesome new tunic!
    .-= Sally´s last blog ..Makeup 101: Cheeks and a Healthy Glow =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.