“Stepped ashore on the beach”

On Thursday, I had a lovely day at the beach with my mom.  The weather was absolutely perfect.  It was slightly overcast, which kept the sun from baking us too much, and there was a fantastic light breeze.  We ate lunch and spent some time looking at the shops at John’s Pass, then we walked over to Treasure Island and sat on the beach for awhile.  It was so wonderfully relaxing, and it was great to get to spend some time with my mom.  It’s funny to me that, even though I only live about 45 minutes from the beach, I only actually go there about two or three times a year.  In my undergraduate years, I used to go a lot more often.  But now that I’m working full-time, I just don’t make the time to get down to the beach very often.

Aren’t these starfish earrings adorable?  I got them at a garage sale a few months ago, but had never worn them.  A trip to the beach seemed like a good time to debut them.  I think it’s kind of fun and cheeky to wear starfish earrings to the beach.

Do you live near a beach?  Do you visit the beach often, or only on occasion?

Blouse: Anthropologie
Shorts: Ann Taylor LOFT (altered be me)
Sandals: Columbia
Purse: Morelle Charlotte
Necklace: Kira Ferrer
Earrings: Garage sale

Nail Polish: Essie Calypso

Quote: Harold and the Purple Crayon, by Crockett Johnson

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Stepped ashore on the beach”

  1. I do not live near the beach, so it’s a real treat to get to go to one!

    I love those earrings!

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    It looks like you had a fantastic day at the beach! I only live on the coast of Lake Michigan (when I’m in WI) and around some really great (but small) lakes when I’m in MN, but I still do love a day at the beach. Milwaukee has some really beautiful bits of coastline– makes for a fabulous day! I love those earrings– so punchy and fun 🙂
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..Black Cloud =-.

    Like

  3. Oooh, those starfish earrings are so beautiful! They remind me of one of my favorite books as an adolescent, Madeline L’Engle’s “The Arm of the Starfish.” And the hot pink polish is just so beachy! It is definitely not beach weather in NY yet, but hopefully I’ll make it out there once or twice this summer.
    .-= alltumbledown´s last blog ..I’m Secretly On Your Side =-.

    Like

  4. Bianca says:

    Awww. I love St. Johns Pass. I hope you had a great time. We used to spend tons of time at the beach – though we usually did Indian Rocks. I am not sure how much time we will spent at the beach in NC – its not as close anymore. :-/

    Like

  5. Kirafashion says:

    Blue as the sea, lovely 🙂
    .-= Kirafashion´s last blog ..SUITS AT REINA SOFÍA AND KIMBERLY TAYLOR =-.

    Like

  6. tiffany says:

    oh, it looks beautiful there! I wish I lived near a beach. You are lucky!
    .-= tiffany´s last blog ..Lookbook: Dotty =-.

    Like

  7. Audi says:

    This makes me wish our beaches were warmer in Northern California. I love the beach, but it’s mostly cold and foggy at ours. 😦
    .-= Audi´s last blog ..Postcards From San Francisco: Love to Haight You =-.

    Like

  8. Kristin says:

    I don’t get to the beach as often as I’d like…but when I can I LOVE to go have drinks at Crabby Bill’s in St. Pete!

    Like

  9. eyeliah says:

    shorts look good here, will be perfect for many summers to come. P.S. Your smiles always make me smile 🙂
    .-= eyeliah´s last blog ..How Old Do You Dress? =-.

    Like

  10. Clare says:

    I never thought of Chicago as a beach town, but I’ve been happily wrong! Joe and I live a short 20-minute walk from the beach, and I love it.

    Your beach day looks and sounds awesome!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..There’s Nothing to It =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.