“And if you’re the type that gets finicky-finick”

This has been the week of comfy, put-together outfits.  I’ve been trying to meet the challenge of remixing outfits as the weather warms up, and it hasn’t been easy.  There have been a lot of days with repeat outfits that I didn’t photograph.  Adding a few new items to my wardrobe has helped to freshen things up a bit, but I’m still struggling to create new looks in the warm temps.  Cardigans have been my saving grace lately, and I’m dreading the 80 + degree temperatures that will soon become the norm for the next four or five months here.  Without the cardigan, this outfit would have just been shorts and a tee – which is a bit too casual for me most days.  A cardigan adds a nice dose of polish to it.  Right now I’m very much on the lookout for nice sleeveless blouses and light, short sleeved cardigans to get me through summer.

It’s come to my attention lately that I wear a LOT of blue.  Blue has always been one of my fall-back colors for clothing, because I’ve always loved how it brings out my blue eyes.  During the winter, I started adding a great variety of colors, but much of my summer wardrobe still centers around this hue.  I’m trying to diversify my wardrobe more now by adding yellow, green, fuchsia and other colors into my summer wardrobe.

What’s your fall-back color?

Tee: Old Navy
Cardigan: NY & Co (via Classy Consignment)
Shorts: Ann Taylor LOFT (thrifted)
Sandals: Clarks Rime (via 6pm)
Purse: Morelle Charlotte
Bangles: Jill Popowich
Earrings: Sara Westermark

Nail Polish: Essie Calypso

Quote: You’re Only Old Once!, by Dr. Seuss

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “And if you’re the type that gets finicky-finick”

  1. Megan says:

    I think my fallback colour is red. It’s bright and cheerful and gives a boost to my spirits. But strangely, I’ve never knit myself anything red.
    .-= Megan´s last blog ..Bleaklow =-.

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    My fallback colors are definitely greens and browns. I think it’s only logical that we tend to gravitate to colors that look best on us. These blues are just creamy loveliness on you!
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Plumage – Riding the Trend Wave =-.

    Like

  3. Bex says:

    Blue is also my fall-back color. I’m trying to break out of that a little and add some warmer colors for interest. I also love interesting color combinations, so I am trying to bring more of that to my wardrobe. But, on those days where I can’t be bothered, I’m nearly always wearing blue.

    Like

  4. Piper says:

    oh boy – my fall back color is probably blue too! although it’s also black – which i’m trying to move away from. i just can’t get away from black being so slimming!!
    .-= Piper´s last blog ..{aus to us…mother’s day gift guide part 3} =-.

    Like

  5. alechia says:

    My fall back color….. hmmm……. honestly, black. It’s simple and clean but then it only adds to me if it’s a dress or something. I love pink, that is the color I am trying to get better with.
    .-= alechia´s last blog ..Random Thoughts of Ingeniousness =-.

    Like

  6. Katie says:

    That striped shirt is darling on you – absolutely perfect for spring and summer.

    Like

Comments are closed.