"I have my own heart"

Hello folks!  My week off was wonderful and refreshing, and I feel like I’ve got a lot of great new ideas for Smiles Go With Everything.  As you may have noticed, I spent part of my time last week re-vamping the look of the blog, and I am so incredibly happy with it!  It feels great to actually be able to apply what I learned in my web design class last year, and I have to say that I felt quite pleasantly nerdy spending two hours last week playing with CSS, HTML and Photoshop.

You may have also noticed that my blog’s tagline has changed to read “style and sustainability for the optimistic soul”.  As I mentioned last week, I want to shift my focus slightly.  Sustainability is an issue that is near and dear to my heart, and I am fascinated by the way that it intersects with personal style.  I want to spend more time digging into that issue, and in particular I want to talk even more than before about shopping second-hand, hand-made and local.  As always, I will be talking about these issues with an optimistic perspective.  It can be easy to get depressed when talking about how much humans have screwed up the environment, but I would rather focus on the positive side of what we can do to make things better, as opposed to dwelling on the negative side.

This is still a style blog, and I will continue to post Daily Outfits, Etsy Love posts and tell you about how I shop in my weekly Shopping Plan posts.  I’ll still talk about how I alter clothes to work for my figure.

For now though, there probably will be fewer outfit posts than before.  With my current schedule at my job (which I love!), it’s hard to get four outfit photos every week.  It was getting to the point where it was becoming a chore for me, as opposed to something I enjoyed doing.  For right now, I’m only going to post outfits twice a week, on Mondays and Thursdays.  If I can get to a point where I can take more outfit photos every week without it feeling like an obligation, then I may increase the number of outfit posts.  At this time, it’s just about figuring out what kind of a schedule works best for me.

Outfit posts will definitely always be around, though.  I think that they are a vital part of this blog, and they fit in perfectly with my new focus on sustainability.  I put a great emphasis of shopping second-hand and hand-made in my personal life, and outfit posts are a a great way to demonstrate that it is completely possible to be stylish in a way that is not detrimental to the environment.

I’m very excited about all the great new things to come, and I hope that you are too!

Cardigan: J Crew (via eBay)
Blouse: Ann Taylor LOFT (thrifted)
Skirt: Semantiks
Shoes: Clarks Apple Sky
Necklace: Coryell Design
Earrings: Wear-thou
Watch: Target

Quote: It’s Hard to Be Five: Learning How to Work My Control Panel, Jamie Lee Curtis & Laura Cornell

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me, Outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to "I have my own heart"

  1. Shybiker says:

    I was going to praise your eco-awareness and the new, improved look of the blog, but then I saw your shoes! They take precedence — they’re just adorable!

    And good luck with finding balance between your work and your blogging. I’m sure you’ll figure out the right pace for both.

    Like

  2. Kate says:

    Love the new blog layout, and the new direction! I think it’s especially interesting how you were able to lay out the goals so clearly and concisely, and it already seems like a perfect fit. Then I realized why: because that’s what you were already doing 🙂

    I’m really looking forward to seeing more, as always!
    .-= Kate´s last blog ..Friday Favorites – 5/7/10 =-.

    Like

  3. I love the new streamlined look of your blog, and I’ll be excited to read more posts on sustainability here, as it is something that is very important to me, as well.

    I love the black, white, and green color combo here!

    Like

  4. gail says:

    love the new haircut! and your outfit is darling, as usual =) good for you on going with your passion and incorporating it into your blog.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Oooh liking the new layout and focus…I’m sure the new posting schedule will be fab, as ever!
    p.s – award for you on my blog…have been waiting for you to come back to tell you 😀
    .-= Amy´s last blog ..Oh Happy Day! =-.

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    I’m excited to see what your plans are for the blog! Love the new layout– especially those gorgeous yellow shoes 🙂
    .-= Mary´s last blog ..the new ‘normal’ =-.

    Like

  7. The blog looks great! Also, I just wanted to comment again that your hair looks amazing! It’s a really good look on you!

    Like

  8. Olivia says:

    Pretty outfit! Those earrings are gorgeous and I just love your skirt!!! 🙂

    xoxo
    Olivia
    .-= Olivia´s last blog ..My pretty Polaroids… =-.

    Like

  9. eyeliah says:

    sounds exciting!! I really like your hair here too!

    Like

  10. Kristin says:

    I think your new focus is fabulous Diana and I love the new look. We’ll have to explore some local spots together. Meg and I have been wanting to do more features, like I did with Sherry’s Yesterdaze, in our respective towns!

    Like

  11. Keely says:

    Love the pop of green with all black and white. And love the hair! So cute.
    .-= Keely´s last blog ..Rain =-.

    Like

  12. katrina says:

    first off, i love the changes you’ve made to your layout and the color palette is beautiful. white, black and yellow really works. great job!

    your haircut is so chic!
    .-= katrina´s last blog ..Much Love Monday =-.

    Like

  13. Clare says:

    I adore the new layout; so spunky and fun! And I’m glad you’re enjoying your new job so much. I love this business casual outfit, and I’m still just crazy about your new hairdo!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..Rectangular is the Wooden Box =-.

    Like

  14. Piper says:

    Love the new blog layout, and the new direction!! And your awesome hair-do…seriously, it’s rockin’!! Glad that you’re enjoying the job…how great is that :)!!
    .-= Piper´s last blog ..{christopher jagmin plates} =-.

    Like

  15. Lauren says:

    My dear, can I be cheeky and steal some quotes from your blog for an article I am writing on IFB about Bloggers feeling pressurised to keep up the routine of writing? Or you cna email me some opinions on the matter if you fancy?

    xxx
    .-= Lauren´s last blog ..A Temporary Leave of Absence =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.