Green D.I.Y.- Cloth Napkins

I’ve been trying to find more ways to eliminate waste in my daily life, and one easy change I’ve made is switching from paper napkins to cloth napkins.  There’s really no need to throw out another napkin every time we eat, when cloth napkins are so easy to make (or buy).  To keep them clean, I just wash them with my dish towels, and I keep enough on hand to last for about five days to a week.  Even if you only have minimal sewing skills, cloth napkins are super easy to make.

Step 1: Start out by making sure all your fabric is pressed.  Wrinkles will mess up your cuts.  Once your fabric is nice and smooth, cut out squares of it.  I decided to make mine 8″ by 8″, but you can make yours at whatever size works for you.  I chose to have patterned cotton fabric for one side (which came from a vintage pillowcase) and plain white cotton for the other side.

Step 2: With right sides together, stitch the two squares of fabric together on three sides and part of the fourth side.  The picture makes it more clear.  By leaving the gap, it makes it easier to turn the napkin inside out (or rightside out, depending on how you look at it.

Step 3: Clip the corners so that they will turn out neater.  Turn the napkin inside out.  Press the heck out of it.  It should be nice and smooth, with crisp edges.


Step 4: Topstitch on all sides, close to the edge.   This will close up the gap left earlier.  Press again.

Step 5: Repeat steps 1 -4 until you have the desired number of napkins.  Prepare a delicious meal, and enjoy your new eco-friendly napkins!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Craftiness, Sustainability and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Green D.I.Y.- Cloth Napkins

  1. Franca says:

    These are so lovely!

    Like

  2. Bex says:

    I switched to cloth napkins a few years ago, and I can’t imagine going back! I just made a couple of sets so they could rotate through the wash. I wish I could convince my mom to make the switch. I love the happy colors in your napkins!

    Like

  3. Piper says:

    I’ve been trying to do that more often – thanks for the reminder. I love what you created though – you make it look easy (except I’m a complete dud when it comes to sewing!)
    .-= Piper´s last blog ..{taking the leap with…darling clementine} =-.

    Like

  4. I’ve start using cloth napkins recently too, and don’t have nearly enough of them. I have some plain white ones that I embroidered designs on, but it didn’t occur to me to make some with all those random pieces of cute fabric I have laying around. Thanks for the idea!
    .-= threegoodrats´s last blog ..Interlude =-.

    Like

  5. Great DIY, very easy to follow 🙂 Love your choice of fabric!

    Luv, Friend in Fashion
    http://www.friendinfashion.blogspot.com
    x

    Like

  6. Kayla says:

    You are so talented!! Love the cloth napkins! Beautiful linens dress up a meal and make it so pleasurable.
    .-= Kayla´s last blog ..Weathering Interventional Radiology =-.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Greening The Little Things: A Homemade + “Hack” Round-Up | Bonzai Aphrodite

  8. Sarranea says:

    Homemade cloth napkins as Christmas gifts this year! Thanks for giving me ideas. I will choose patterns that tailor to my friends’ preferences, then fit them into a square wicker basket wrapped only in a ribbon and bow. I especially like your idea of including a backing. It just makes it tidy.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Pillowcase Pimpin' DIY Ideas

Comments are closed.