"If you go on vacation"

Well, today is Day One of my nine week long summer vacation.  I have mixed feelings about this break.  I really love my job, and the prospect of not going to it for nine weeks gives me a bit of anxiety.  I like having structure to my weekdays, and having a completely open schedule everyday makes me worried that I won’t make the best use of my time.  That’s why I’m working on putting together a plan for my summer.  I’ll go into greater detail tomorrow, but it involves several elements: getting organized, catching up on crafting, making my life more green, keeping my mind sharp, and working on preparations for the next school year.

Most of my plans also involve spending as little money as possible.  I have to really minimize my extraneous spending this summer, so having a lot of projects planned that don’t involve extra money is good for me.  I may be buying a little fabric for some projects, I may buy a few new plants and supplies for my garden, but I want to keep my spending to a minimum.  Between groceries, rent, bills and student loan payments, I’m not going to have much in the way of discretionary funds.  Still, I’m excited to see what I can get done when I discipline my free time!

What do you do with long stretches of free time?  Or what would you do if you suddenly had some?

Tunic: Hilo’s (via Triage)
Jeans: Express (re-conned by me)
Sandals: Clarks Rime
Earrings: Wear-thou
Cuff: via Classy Consignment

Don’t Take Your Snake for a Stroll, by Karin Ireland

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to "If you go on vacation"

  1. I love the color of that top!

    I wish you the best in planning and sticking to your plan for your unstructured summer time. I look forward to hearing more about your crafting and gardening projects.

    Like

  2. Retro Chick says:

    That colour looks gorgeous on you!

    When I have lots of free time I tend to completely waste it sadly!
    .-= Retro Chick´s last blog ..Behind the Scenes with Lady K Loves =-.

    Like

  3. Shybiker says:

    Wow… I’m envious. Seriously.

    Since college (30 years ago), I haven’t had more than 10 days off at one time. For me to take a full week off of work is rare. The amount of time you’re talking about is unbelievable to me.

    What I’d do with that much time is write. Find a subject I love, research it thoroughly, and write. I love the process of learning; I love the quiet of libraries; and I love to put my ideas down on paper.

    I’d also take a long trip on my motorcycle, like across the country. You could join me on your scooter. 🙂
    .-= Shybiker´s last blog ..Risk =-.

    Like

  4. Clare says:

    I’m pretty bad with lots of free time. I tend to get irresponsible with my money and lazy with my activities. But in my efforts to simplify and live my life with more intention, I think I can change some of that going forward. I am, however, insanely jealous of people who have summer break. Working full-time in July and August is going to be rough!

    Also, I love that blouse!!
    .-= Clare´s last blog ..Don’t Look Now, Girls =-.

    Like

  5. gail says:

    catching up—again! #1 son gets out of school a week from tomorrow and then we have 9 weeks of summer together! i’m used to him being in a developmental program that we don’t have access to now that we’ve moved to a different state, but we’ll find fun things to do. luckily, hubsters in now working so we have a bit extra money to spend, just the opposite from you, and i’m defintiely goin to use it to make the summer a good one. probably swimming, matinee’s, drive to the creek to spend hot afternoons, library time, and of course, lounging on the sofa watching cartoons (him, not me!)

    also, love those sandals. but do they hurt your toes with the angled straps? i’m on the hunt for new sandals this summer.
    .-= gail´s last blog ..How Does Your Shopping Go? =-.

    Like

  6. I don’t think this can be said enough: I love this color on you!
    Long stretches of time that don’t have to be structured make me nervous too! I usually try to read up on things I’m interested in but don’t normally have time for, like gardening books and new authors people have told me to try. I also try to make gifts for people so that I won’t be frantic when the time comes.
    .-= Ann Underfunded Humanity´s last blog ..La Historiadora de Moda has a New Blog =-.

    Like

  7. Jen says:

    I am TERRIBLE with my free time – I go crazy. My husband says that I am the worst bored person in the world.

    Good thinking on coming up with a plan for the summer. I’m the same way insofar as I do best when I have structure.
    .-= Jen´s last blog ..Daily Outfit – Jen – 6/11/10 =-.

    Like

  8. When I was laid off from my last library job, I worked out almost every day, cooked, volunteered at a food pantry, attended a week-long Library Leadership Institute, took an online class on job-searching for librarians, attended a library conference, blogged, wrote a newsletter for a neighborhood organization every month…and still found time to sit outside in my yard and drink iced tea while reading books 🙂 I think the difficult part is discipline – if you can just plan and structure your days you can get a lot done!
    .-= threegoodrats´s last blog ..The Age of Innocence : a review =-.

    Like

Comments are closed.