“Everything in French sounds fancy”

How do you make a 3/4 sleeve cotton and cashmere tee work in the heat of summer?  Pair it with shorts and sandals!  I was determined to wear this lightweight tee, despite the fact that it’s in the 90s everyday now.  I realized that if I balanced out the longer sleeve length with shorts, I could wear it and still not be overheated.  The head scarf was mostly there to add a nice pop of color.  It also brought out the color of this gorgeous nail polish, which I’ll be talking about more tomorrow.

For some reason, I always feel very French when I wear this striped tee.  I’m not really sure where the association of stripes and France began.  The head scarf added a nice Euro touch as well.

Do you see stripes as French, Nautical or both? Or something else?

Shirt: J Crew (via eBay)
Shorts: Ann Taylor LOFT
Sandals: Born (via eBay)
Purse: Morelle Charlotte
Scarf: Vintage
Cuff: via Classy Consignment
Earrings: Efy Tal

Quote: Fancy Nancy, by Jane O’Connor

Nail Polish: No Miss Manalapan Melon

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Everything in French sounds fancy”

  1. Natalie says:

    So cute! I usually see stripes as French; however when they are paired with gold and navy I definitely see them as nautical!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    Definitely French, goodness knows why. 🙂 I love them though almost for that very reason, they feel stylish and sophisticated and playful all at once! Lovely outfit!

    Like

  3. Shybiker says:

    That’s a great outfit! Well-chosen elements which come together.

    And it’s definitely a French-style top. Nautical usually has a boat-neck like this:
    http://transmissionme.blogspot.com/2010/07/late-patriot.html

    Like

  4. Cute outfit! I’ve always been interested by the long-sleeved top with shorts (or a mini) look, but if I’m going to go for a more covered-up look in the summer, usually will go the other direction – bare arms, covered legs.

    Horizontal black-and-white (or navy-and-white, and maybe even red-and-white) are both nautical and French! Since the 19th century, French sailors have worn knitted horizontally-striped tops as part of their uniform. The stripes are called “Breton stripes” after Brittany (someone or something from Brittany is a Breton), a rocky coastal area in northwestern France.

    Like

  5. Kristin says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the polish! Love the color!

    Like

  6. Rosalind says:

    Have you seen the movie Coco Chanel with Audrey Tatou? There’s a gorgeous scene where Coco is watching some French sailors wearing those nautical stripes, and in the next scene, she’s adapted the top for herself. So, French and nautical!

    You don’t make the same style choices as I make (I think we’re just very different), but I love reading your blog, especially the shopping and budgeting posts. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who sometimes has trouble sticking to my $20 a week budget!

    Like

  7. Alex says:

    I have been enjoying your blog a lot!!! Thanks!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.