Crafty Interlude: Yoga Mat Bag

I mentioned last week that I’ve gotten a lot of sewing done so far this summer.  Two of my favorite projects are in the above photo: my “new” yoga pants, and my yoga mat bag.  The pants are actually some Target pants that I bought a few years ago.  They had a tacky stripe down the sides, and the legs flared at the bottom.  I removed the stripes and took them in, so now they’re somewhere-near-but-not-quite harem pants.  I find that having a narrow hem works better for inversion poses.  It was great to make some awesome new yoga wear without spending any extra money.

I’m really, really proud of how this yoga mat bag turned out.  I made a duffle bag with this fabric awhile ago, but it was too short for a yoga bag, and it languished in my closet.  I undid all the seams and re-used the fabric and the zipper to make this bag.  I looked at a variety of mat bags on Etsy and other websites, until I got a good idea of what kind of design I wanted.  I drew out some sketches, and then winged it.  I didn’t get any process pictures, because I was in the “sewing zone” and I didn’t want to keep getting out my camera.

One important element I wanted to include was a water bottle holder.  I drink a lot of water when I practice, so I wanted something that could hold my reusable bottle without letting it fall out.  I added some elastic inside the top to insure that.

The top and bottom pieces of the tube were probably the most difficult parts to sew.  I didn’t want any seams showing, inside or out, so I took a long time pinning and sewing these circles, pricking my fingers many times.  Now I understand the purpose of thimbles.  It didn’t come out completely perfect, but its mine, and I love it.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crafty Interlude: Yoga Mat Bag

  1. Lisa D says:

    Well done! It looks very well made and I love the lining.

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    You did a great job! I can imagine how annoying those end circles must have been, but it turned out so well. And, I love the alteration you made to your pants. I bet it helps bring a little extra confidence to difficult poses knowing you outfitted yourself so well! 🙂

    Like

  3. Shybiker says:

    You’re so talented!

    Like

  4. Clare says:

    So impressed. Love the colors!

    Like

  5. Kyla says:

    I love this bag! You should be so proud of it! I really need to invest in a yoga mat. I’m sitting here now with a rug burn on my elbow 🙂

    Like

  6. eyeliah says:

    Great work on the bag, I need to bike somewhere with my yoga mat tomorrow and I’m trying to figure out how I can make it happen….. lol

    Like

  7. alechia says:

    You did amazing work here! I love the bag and I’m envious of the pants. Miss you!

    Like

  8. Yarrow says:

    How wonderful! That is so cool. I have been wanting to make a yoga bag for some time now. This is very inspiring. Blessings.

    Like

  9. ADDDDORABLE!!! I totally need a yoga bag – this is the perfect solution!!!!
    Brilliant 🙂
    Lots of love,
    Beckerman Girls
    http://www.beckermanbiteplate.com

    Like

  10. Pingback: Summer 2010 Memories |

Comments are closed.