“A solitary Schwinn, casual on its kickstand”

After being lazy for a good half of the summer, I finally hopped on my bicycle last week for a trip to the library and the post office.  And I’m so glad I did!  I didn’t realize how much I had missed riding until I felt the wind on my face, the sun on my back, and that supreme satisfaction that comes from getting around town by your own two wheels.  Yes, it’s true that it’s hot and muggy.  Yes, I started sweating like crazy when I got to the library.  But a washcloth and some extra deodorant later, and I was no more sweaty than anyone else dealing with the Florida heat.  Now I’m really, really wanting to try bike commuting.  I’ll have to wake up even earlier than I already do, and I might not be able to do it every day, since I often have to go to meetings on the other side of the county, but I’d love it if I could even work up to bike commuting twice a week.  Riding a bike is just so much more fun than driving a car, and it’s better for the earth too.

I think that riding a bike is better for me psychologically too.  Whenever I drive, I tend to get really stressed out.  I’m often really distracted too (not be cell phones or anything, I just have difficulty paying attention).  I always feel disconnected from my surroundings.  On a bicycle, I can breathe deeply.  If I see something that’s interesting, I can stop and look at it.  I can wave to neighbors and fellow cyclists and feel a sense of community.  I’m also more vulnerable, which can be a bit scary at times, but I always carry pepper spray when I ride, just in case a mean dog (or human) tries to mess with me.

By the way, my bike is a vintage (Chicago) Schwinn Suburban from the 60s or 70s.  I love it.  It still doesn’t have a name yet – I don’t seem to be very good at naming things.

Tank: Soma (thrifted)
Sleeveless shirt: St John’s Bay (thirfted)
Shorts: Ann Taylor LOFT
Shoes: Keen Barcelona (via eBay)
Cuff: via Classy Consignment
Earrings: Gift from cousin
Purse: Timbuk2

Quote: On The Wings of Heroes, by Richard Peck

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “A solitary Schwinn, casual on its kickstand”

  1. Your bike is the perfect accessory with this outfit, it goes great together! Too cute. Glad you’re getting back to something you enjoy.

    Like

  2. Clare says:

    I have a red vintage Schwinn, and I’ve been so lazy about busting it out this year. After I broke my arm last summer from riding my bike, I’ve been a bit scared to hop on again. I must change that, stat!

    Like

  3. Shybiker says:

    Yes! Yes! Yes! Riding calms our mind, exercises our body and soothes our soul. It puts us in touch with our surroundings and helps the planet. It’s common to forget these wonderful benefits and a good cure for that is riding regularly. Commuting to work, if you do it, is a great example. Great post!

    Like

  4. Martha says:

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back sometime soon. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice day!

    Like

Comments are closed.