Shopping Plan: Week 24

*Week 24 of My Great Shopping Plan of 2010, where I attempt to stay on a budget and fill out my wardrobe*

Garage sale finds, $9 total

Whenever a neighborhood garage sale happens, I love to hop on my bike and go treasure hunting.  I’m pretty picky, so sometimes I’ll come back with nothing.  Other times, I’ll come back with some amazing finds at crazy prices.  That’s what happened this past weekend.  I was a bit late getting started (11:00ish) but there were still a lot of good sales going on.  I found that fun straw tote at the first garage sale ($2).  It turned out to be pretty handy, because I carried all the rest of my purchases in it.  It’s a great carry-all, and will be perfect for trips to the beach, farmer’s market, or just to carry miscellany around.

The next sale I went to had a fantastic stash of vintage jewelry.  I got two beautiful creamy pearl necklaces (you can never have too many pearls!), some Sarah Coventry brooches and one matching earring (we couldn’t find the other one) for a mere $2!  I plan on turning the earring into a necklace charm.

At the last sale (which was an estate sale)  I got that beautiful yellow Vera scarf and the white straw hat.  I’m kind of addicted to yellow, so I know I’ll use the scarf.  I’m not so sure about the hat, but I’ve really been wanting a cute straw hat for the summer, so I figured it was worth a shot.  Those were $5 (a bit overpriced for a garage sale, but still cheaper than it would be at a brick and mortar shop).

So, after last week, I had $41 left for the month of July.  I spent $9, so now there’s $32 left.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shopping Plan: Week 24

  1. LauraVW says:

    I LOVE that yellow scarf, what a great find. And the jewellery all looks very classic and elegant.

    Like

  2. eyeliah says:

    Perfect summer finds, especially the hat!

    Like

  3. elbee says:

    I love those pearl necklaces. I, too, have started budgeting my clothes shopping, but mainly because I am saving for a house. I’ve only put aside $50 a month, and hopefully I will get better at thrifting and shopping around to make it worthwhile. 😛

    Like

Comments are closed.