Before and After : Blue Tunic Re-con

Before

You may be familiar with my matching blue and purple Target tunics that I thrifted awhile ago.  You can see the purple one here and the blue one here.  While I love how they fit, I’ve never really liked the length. They were too short to wear with leggings, but an awkward length for jeans.  I tried shortening the purple one a few months ago, but ended up not liking it.  Yesterday, I took inspiration from some amazing re-cons I’ve been looking at lately, and created a completely new tunic.

I measured my tunic against another tunic that I like the length of, and figured out that I needed to add about six inches.  I cut six inches off the bottom of the purple tunic (including the part I had cut off and re-attached).  I then sewed that onto the hem of the blue tunic.  This gave me the length that I wanted, but the color blocking looked odd.  I decided to add some purple details at the collar to give the tunic more continutity.

Inspired by Tatertots and Jello’s recent t-shirt refashion, I decided to create some flower details.  I cut circles from the purple fabric, using my lens cap as a pattern for the larger circle and a paper holder (not shown) to make the smaller circles.  The larger one has three layers and the smaller ones have two.  Following the tutorial, I folded the layers in half, and stitched in the middle, then folded the other way and stitched again.

After this, I sewed them onto the tunic, and stitched buttons in the middle. I chose blue buttons that were a similar tone to the blue part of the tunic, to help further continuity.

I absolutely love how the finished tunic turned out!  I can see myself wearing this a lot more than the old tunic.  It looks amazing with leggings and skinny jeans, and I could even wear it as a swimsuit cover up at the beach.  Next, I plan on fashioning the leftovers of the purple tunic into a new dress or tunic.  Hopefully, I’ll post that next week.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Before and After : Blue Tunic Re-con

  1. so cool! I love your projects – you do such a good job at making items look just right! (Although I do love your look as well in the first pic here – the blue tunic with the brown belt.)

    Like

  2. Sally says:

    WOW! The refashion is completely amazing! Well done, lady. Can’t wait to see what happens to the leftovers.

    Like

  3. Tonya says:

    That is awesome! The flowers totally make it.

    Like

  4. Anna says:

    Wow! What a great idea! And it turned out so great! People would pay top dollar for such a beautiful piece.

    Like

  5. whoa what an awesome revamping project! it looks so good!

    Like

  6. Bianca says:

    Nice! Its Boden-esque but with your own personality! SO cute. 🙂

    Like

  7. anjali says:

    Diana, this is awesome!! What a transformation. I am very impressed.

    Like

  8. Piper says:

    Wow, that turned out awesome!! I love that you can look at a top and make a transformation to it that completely makes it better!! Very impressive 🙂

    Like

  9. Pingback: Smiles Go With Everything » Blog Archive » “Comic, tragic or melodramatic”

  10. Kyla says:

    Sooo cute! I can’t wait to see it in action!

    Like

  11. Kristen says:

    How clever! Love the additional layers at the bottom.

    Like

  12. Pingback: “I turned on the light” | Smiles Go With Everything

  13. Pingback: Summer 2010 Memories | Smiles Go With Everything

  14. Ella says:

    I love this kind of post. I wish I weren’t so lazy or I’d do stuff like this. You are awesome!

    I love those trendy flowers. (Kind of like they have at Loft and also done at cheaper stores, I think I see you and I both love Loft, from the big “LOFT” in your tag cloud, haha.)

    So you know, I think the double-layer look of the purple on the bottom makes it work all the better, somehow. It’s like meant to be.

    BTW, I do that color-block top and bottom thing when I just dress (haven’t DIYed like that). It’s almost necessary, right? Like if I have contrast colors like black/tan, pink/purple. Bring the bottom color up near the face and it works. 🙂

    Great blog!!

    Like

Comments are closed.