My Jewelry Organization


As you probably know, I love to buy handmade and vintage jewelry.  In fact, jewelry is really one of my favorite things to buy. It always fits, no matter how much your weight fluctuates.  It can instantly transform an outfit.  And it’s just darn pretty to look at.

When you have a good amount of jewelry, you have to have some way to organize it, or you’ll never be able to find anything.  For awhile, I was tempted by expensive jewelry organizers that had a spot for every little piece of jewelry.  Since I couldn’t really afford those, I had to come up with my own, less expensive system.  And I love it.

I bought this wooden coat rack at a garage sale.  I think it maybe cost $1.  I use it to hang all my necklaces and non-cuff/bangle bracelets.  And yes, I keep them in rainbow order.  In fact, there’s a couple necklaces in there that I thrifted solely because they filled a color gap on my necklace display.

I inherited this vintage jewelry box from my grandmother.  I keep all my post earrings, rings and small jewelry in here.

I bought this vintage mug holder from Mask Snorkel Fins for $12 (which is still a whole lot cheaper than similar items at Urban Outfitters).  I use it to store all of my vintage bangle and cuff bracelets, which I’ve been acquired quite a few of lately.

This mesh star is another garage sale find – I think it was a couple bucks.  I use it to display all my large hoops and dangly earrings.

The total cost for all of this was under $20, and I love how it has character to it, unlike those expensive organizers I was looking at.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me, Craftiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Jewelry Organization

  1. Kristin says:

    Ha! I love that you bought jewelry just to fill in your ROYGBIV! This is a fantastic demonstration of what a little bit of imagination and patience will do. I’d take this kind of frugal, witty organization over expensive, dull units any day 🙂

    Like

  2. Piper says:

    You are way too organized – love that!! And so creative – great idea using the mug holder – gotta steal that idea :)!! It’s like an art display

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    I use mug holders for my bracelets and short necklaces as well. I have the same orange one as you, along with an olive green one. They’re the best!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Etsy Love: Jewelry Organization | Smiles Go With Everything

  5. Shybiker says:

    Clever and attractive storage ideas. Knowing what you have is so important.

    When I passed the stage of just having a jumble of forgotten jewelry in a drawer, I realized the value of what you do. Now I need to catch up to the style with which you do it!

    Like

Comments are closed.