“Some fun things are hard”

Whew!  My first week back at work was exhausting.  I love being back at work, but it will take a few weeks for me to get used to the schedule again.  I missed posting yesterday because I simply didn’t budget my weekend time well.  I might be missing a couple posts here and there as I’m re-adjusting, but hopefully I’ll get back in the rhythm of things before too long.

I discovered this tiny little park about three years ago.  I’ve been meaning to take photos down here ever since then, yet somehow, I’d never gotten around to it.  Since I really liked this outfit, and since it was my first day back at work, I decided to finally get down here and take some pictures.  The park has a little tiny bridge right on the river, and it’s just gorgeous.  I hope I can start getting down here more often.

This photo is my shout out to S. of Simply Bike, who recently wrote about panda shots, which are photos you take of yourself while riding your bike.  This was also my first time riding a bike in a dress and heels.

Dress: Soprano (second-hand)
Belt: Vintage
Cardigan: J Crew (via eBay)
Shoes: Fluevog Malibrans
Bracelet: Vintage (via garage sale)
Earrings: wear+thou

Quote: It’s Hard to Be Five: Learning How to Work My Control Panel, by Jamie Lee Curtis & Laura Cornell

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Some fun things are hard”

  1. Franca says:

    Great outfit and what a lovely park! I love your header too, I hadn’t seen it yet. I bet you’ve had it for ages, but I’ve been missing *everything* with being away so much.

    Like

  2. Simply Bike says:

    Happy back-to-school! Today is my first day and, like you, I will be making the bike ride with a skirt and heels on 🙂 Great shots, that spot on the little bridge is so pretty. And good shoe panda! It took me a little practice to figure out some good angles for how to hold the camera to snap a shot while riding.

    Like

  3. Kristin says:

    Snazzy, classy, lovely outfit and beautiful pics. I guess I’ll forgive you for missing a post, then 😉 Just kidding, you know I completely understand!

    Like

  4. Kyla says:

    Diana, these pictures are beautiful! The setting, the bike, your simply chic outfit – I love it all!

    Like

  5. alechia says:

    You look amazing, seriously. A great place for pictures and a perfect outfit to match. Fantastic!

    Like

  6. Clare says:

    You look fabulous! I hope you got a chance to rest up this weekend.

    Like

  7. Shybiker says:

    Readjusting to work is always hard, especially after a layover.

    Your yellow shoes are incredible!

    Like

  8. Kristin says:

    What carefree and fun photos. Love them D!

    Like

  9. Tara says:

    I love the navy/green combo. It reminds me of my elementary school colors (very fond memories) – but the pop of yellow makes it ultra-fun. Unfortunately, I live in a very bike un-friendly area and it is not safe at all to bike to anyplace. But, I think your “panda shot” is quite nifty.

    Like

  10. Amy says:

    Totally… TOTALLY… in love with those shoes. Aww they just make the outfit… you look beautiful!

    xoxo
    Amy

    Like

  11. Kate says:

    That park is GORGEOUS and so’s your outfit 🙂

    FWIW, I’ve found that even though it’s easier to let my bike pedal slip into the inside of my heels, the pedals can also wreak havoc on the shoes – I dented my favorite brown maryjanes that way 😦 So as a preventative measure, I might recommend that you be extra careful to keep the balls of your feet on your bike pedals (just as when you bike in flats or tennies) so those gorgeous Fluevogs don’t suffer the same fate as my poor maryjanes!

    So are you cycling to work, now? 🙂

    Like

  12. Pingback: Saturday Metadata « YA & MLIS (almost)

Comments are closed.