Shopping Plan: Weeks 29 and 30

*Weeks 29 and 30 of My Great Shopping Plan of 2010, where I attempt to stay on a budget and fill out my wardrobe*

Ann Taylor LOFT capris, $18 on eBay
So, life’s been busy since I started back at work, and I missed posting last week.  These capris were the only thing I bought that week, because I was still waiting for my first paycheck.  They’re cute and comfortable, but I’m going to be altering them a bit.  I don’t like capris to have wide legs, so I’m going to taper them.
Blue raincoat: $5
Grey Sheath: $5
After finally getting paid, I went to a fantastic vintage sale at one of my favorite local shops: Sherry’s Yesterdaze. I bought a $10 ticket to go to the early bird sale, and I’m glad I did.  It was less crowded, which made me feel more comfortable shopping, and it gave me first dibs.  I found these two gems above: the funky, pale blue raincoat looks awesome with my grey and purple wellies, and it’s got a really interesting construction.  The grey sheath is absolutely amazing – I feel like I’m in Mad Men when I wear it.  And it goes to show that sometimes, it’s okay to break your own rules.  I generally never buy polyester, but I decided to make an exception with this dress  It looks so amazing on, and it was only $5.  I would prefer to find something similar made of wool or another natural fabric, but I still love it.
They also had $5 jewelry grab bags at the sale, so I got all this jewelry:
Vintage jewelry: $5
I probably won’t keep all of it, but there’s a couple items in there that I really love.
Now that I’ve gone back to work, I’ve come to the realization that I really need to come back to my original focus of filling gaps in my wardrobe.  The past few months, I’ve ignored my gaps list, and basically just bought whatever I happened to find.  Now I’m back at work and realizing that I have no slacks that fit me, and only so many blouses and dresses that are work appropriate.  It’s about time for some back to school shopping for me!
About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping Plan: Weeks 29 and 30

  1. I’m a fairly new follower who has yet to comment, but I had to tell you how jealous I am of that new raincoat. It is quite possibly the cutest thing I have ever laid eyes on. I can’t wait to see it on.

    Like

  2. GingerB says:

    Cute dress.
    Do you see yourself with a wide pink headband and a pillbox purse?

    I’m not one to seek out polyester, but I will say that it’s a good ingredient if you are loath to iron things, as I am!

    Like

  3. Shybiker says:

    I assumed, from the start of school, that your absence was due to work-obligations. We missed you last week!

    The grey sheath is nice. I’m sure it’ll look great on you.

    Like

  4. meegiemoo says:

    I love that rain jacket and gray dress. Great finds!

    Like

Comments are closed.