Introducing: The 3/50 Project

A few weeks ago, I posted about some great stuff I bought at a local antique shop. About a week after that post, I learned that one of those antique shops would be closing.  Then I heard that another local antique shop I’d been meaning to visit was closing.  Then I got an e-mail from another local shop that they would no longer have their brick and mortar location, and is going completely online.   Last month, a local vintage store closed their store front.  I never got around to visiting there.

Seeing so many local shops go under is heart breaking to me.  I love shopping at local stores.  I like finding unique and interesting objects.  I like meeting people who really care about their businesses and what they sell.  I like buying things that support an individual and not a corporation.  Not to mention the fact that buying local is simply fantastic for your local economy.

I recently read about The 3/50 project, and I love what they’re doing.  They’re encouraging everyone to pick three local shops each month and spend $50 at those shops. (Of course, you can shop at more shops than that, and spend more than that.  It’s just kind of catchy to call it 3/50).  Their site is full of information and resources about why shopping local is so important.

I have decided to be more intentional about spending money locally, and I’d like to challenge everyone else to try spending $50 locally every month too.  At first, it may sound like a financial burden, but it doesn’t have to be.  Just shift the money that you would usually spend at big businesses to local businesses.  Instead of buying coffee beans at a chain store, buy them at a local coffee roaster.  Instead of buying some cheap furniture at a big box store, buy some cool (much more durable) furniture at a local antique shop.  Instead of buying clothes at the mall, hit up a local thrift or consignment store.

And just a note:  as I’ve said before, I don’t think that big box, chain stores, and malls are necessarily bad.  I just think it’s good to have balance.  I still shop at Target, the Gap, IKEA, Starbucks and plenty of other big chain stores.  But I try to balance that out with local independent businesses as well.  I think that in all things in life, balance is key.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping, Sustainability and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Introducing: The 3/50 Project

  1. Jenn says:

    While in general I don’t shop much outside of thrift stores (some of which are local), I’ve really tried this summer to put a lot more money into farmer’s markets than I have before, and to support as many local farmers as I can. I actually just walked in the door from the market, and am really happy that I spent $20 on some wonderful, locally grown produce and, since I have to buy groceries anyway, it’s not a hardship, and is actually far, far more pleasant than the local grocery store.

    Like

  2. Shybiker says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. Local stores add character, are owned and staffed by your neighbors, and usually have more interesting, diverse stuff than corporate chains.

    My hometown, which is admired and well-known as the mini-Manhattan of Long Island, started a similar program last year, encouraging residents to buy local.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the great post -and- for pointing out the importance of balance. That’s a central part of our message; pretty sure we’re the only “buy local” movement whose FAQ page actually says it’s okay to go to big boxes too…just need to spread the love around a bit more equitably.

    I invite everyone to visit our site and our Facebook page. The more, the merrier!

    Cinda Baxter
    Founder
    The 3/50 Project
    http://www.the350project.net
    http://www.facebook.com/the350project

    Like

  4. Clare says:

    This is such a fabulous idea. Though at the moment I don’t think I can swing 3/$50, I might have to go for 1/$50 or 3/$20. The importance of supporting local businesses cannot be overstated.

    Like

  5. Pingback: The 3/50 Project: September | Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.