DIY: Layered Chain Necklace

Last year, I posted about the beautiful layered chain necklaces I was noticing on Etsy.  I love them, but I never actually got around to buying one. Recently, I began to notice that I had quite a few silver chain necklaces and bracelets that I never wear.  With a few jump rings and a pair of pliers, I transformed them into a lovely diy chain necklace.

I started out with four necklaces and two bracelets.  The necklace with the largest links will be my base necklace, because it’s easier to work with.  I ended up not using the jump rings pictured, because they were to large to fit into the links of my base.  You can buy supplies like this at your local craft store.  Jewelry pliers would have been better, but I don’t own any yet.

Step 1: Remove end pieces.

Take the lobster clasps and end pieces off of your necklaces and bracelets.  Leave the small ring at the end of each chain intact – you will need these in the next step.

Step 2: Position necklaces and bracelets in the way that you would like them attached, and use small jump rings and pliers to attach them to your base necklace.

It may take a bit of trial and error to find how you would like your chains arranged.  I decided to attach the three necklaces together closer to the top of the chain, while I attached the two bracelets lower.  There’s an infinite number of ways to arrange your chains, and it’s pretty easy to change it if you change your mind.

And that’s it!  Say hello to your awesome diy chain necklace that costs next to nothing, since you likely already have most of the supplies.  I’ve already worn mine several times, and I think it will become a new staple for me.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Craftiness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIY: Layered Chain Necklace

  1. Clare says:

    Yay, I love this! Honestly, this is kind of how my old Etsy shop was born!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2010 Year in Review: July – December | Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.