“They’re only interested in clothes”

I’m not one to be vainly interested in clothes, but I am coming to the realization that my closet needs an overhaul.  I have a lot of great clothes that currently don’t fit, since I gained a little weight over the summer.  I have a lot of clothes that I don’t completely love – the fabric isn’t soft, the color is wrong, etc.  Some of these problems I can fix, but really, I mostly need to get rid of a lot of my clothes and buy some new duds that I actually really love.  I would estimate that right now, I only regularly wear about 25 – 30% of my closet on a regular basis.  I think I should maybe revisit my wardrobe inventory and wardrobe gaps lists, and really take a look at what I need.

I’ve also got another change in the works: I’m buying a pair of running shoes.  I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile, but good running shoes are expensive, and I didn’t have enough money saved up to afford a pair until recently.  I want to get a really good pair, because my feet pronate (or is it over-pronate?) – the thing where your feet tend to roll to the outside.  I like to wear running shoes that correct this, because it helps prevent injury, and I really don’t want to screw up my knees.

I used to run three times a week for about 20 minutes, but for the past several years, I switched to just working out at the gym, and then recently, I added yoga.  I absolutely love practicing yoga, but the gym just isn’t doing it for me anymore, and my membership rates are about to go up, so I’m thinking it’s a great time to take up running again.  We’ll see how it goes.

Tank: Sonoma (thrifted)
Cardigan: Anthropologie (eBay)
Jeans: Gap
Shoes: Keen Barcelona (eBay)
Bracelets: Jill Popowich
Earrings: Mackie Jewelry

Quote: Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “They’re only interested in clothes”

  1. Colleen says:

    What a nice post! It feels so inspiring to read about the changes you hope to make! I just took up running a month ago (I have always hated it and never dreamed I would but I did!:) and I find that though it’s hard for me, I love it, the feeling of accomplishment it gives me is unequaled! So have fun with the running shoe shopping and getting back into running! Best of luck to you although I’m sure you don’t need it!:)

    Like

  2. Becca says:

    Yes! Oh Diana, I feel the same way about my closet. Some things, you just grow out of. Mentally, physically- whatever. Either way, if you’re not completely comfortable just grabbing something and throwing it on, changes have to be made. That’s tough to think about, because of purchasing and organizing and budgeting, but it turns out to work SO well. Yeah?
    I like your rationality so much 🙂

    Like

  3. I feel ya on this issue. I gained about 10 pounds during the final stages of my PhD. I’ve lost most of that, but things seem to have shifted so my pants and a number of my skirts (ahem pencil skirts) still don’t fit right. Since I’m the sole breadwinner, though, I will just have to fill in the gaps as my budget allows.

    I love to run. I’m training for my second marathon, and running is definitely cheaper than a gym membership until you start registering for races at least.

    Like

  4. Kristen says:

    The question for me is, what do you plan to do with the clothes that don’t fit? I am in a similar situation and in my case, the clothes that don’t fit are really nice quality stuff from Nordstrom. I am probably only 5lbs away from fitting into them, but I don’t seem to be heading in that direction right now. In the meantime, I’m wearing hastily purchased and cheaper alternatives. I don’t want to give away the good clothes yet, but they take up space in my closet.

    Like

  5. Bex says:

    Good luck with running – it sounds like a lot of fun! I never feel like gym equipment does the job, exercise-wise. Although I hate the heat and the sun, I really prefer to exercise outside – biking, walking, hiking and so forth. It is easier to stick with, and to get more time spent just moving! Although, I think the gym is good for classes and weight lifting.

    Like

  6. Clare says:

    A good, solid closet clean-out can be a great way to figure out what pieces you need. I really love this outfit on you, too. The subtlety and colors are lovely.

    Like

  7. Chrissy says:

    I have lurked for a long time. I love your blog. I buy running shoes a lot and I find that kohls has good deals on running shoes. You might want to go to lady foot locker, or something like that, it get a good fit. But I have found the best prices at Kohls. Spend your money on the Nike plus running thing for Ipod!!! Good luck!

    Like

  8. Piper says:

    I’m so with you on this – I’ve been trying to get back to working out and with my crazy schedule I just haven’t been able to! So good for you for getting some running shoes and getting out there. I need to do the same!!

    Like

  9. Tracy says:

    I’m sure you’ve already thought about this, but since you know you have problems with pronation it is absolutely ESSENTIAL that you go and get fitted at a good, specialty running store. They should watch you watch and examine your foot and bring you bunches of shoes to try on, and then they should ideally have a treadmill for you to run on so they can see how the shoes correct your stride. Very important!! Once you know what shoes work for you, then you can buy your future pairs online for cheap(er), but for the first pair – get fitted!
    /lecture 🙂

    Like

  10. Tara says:

    I, too am currently assessing my wardrobe to see what I really wear and what I don’t. As I have also gained weight this summer, I need to find a way to be fit. I allowed my gym membership to expire but seeing as I am not a runner, I wasn’t sure what to do. Luckily, my BF got me a shiny new bike for my birthday. Good luck with the fitting and post how the running goes. Do you have planned running routes or are you a spontaneous runner?

    Like

  11. GingerR says:

    Don’t want to get too fussy, but if your foot rolls to the outside then it’s called underpronation or supination. Rolling to the insides is overpronation.

    I roll to the inside and after a couple of pairs of running store shoes I can shop discounters and spot the shoes with the proper foot support and pick them up for less, if they are available. Not unexpectedly shoes that are made for specific foot conditions seem to be less likely to turn up at a discounters.

    Decent fitness equipment is really important. I’d say that if you don’t own a pair of shoes that are right for your gait then all other purchases should be considered second priority until you’ve got the right shoes for your feet!

    Like

  12. Sarah says:

    I feel the same way about my closet – some things I don’t love, some things don’t fit, and I have gaps that I need to fill. I have been meaning to clean out my closet and get rid of things that I don’t love and that don’t fit but then the frugal person in me says I can’t afford to replace it all at once. I need to get to it – maybe this will motivate me.

    Thanks!

    Like

  13. Kristin says:

    I SO need to do a closet purge lady! It’s ridiculous. I still have stuff in there that I haven’t worn in like a decade!

    Like

Comments are closed.