Shopping Plan: Week 35

*Week 35 of My Great Shopping Plan of 2010, where I attempt to stay on a budget and fill out my wardrobe*

Gap Curvy Pants, $59.50

Last week, I finally did what I’ve been saying I would do for months, and I actually bought a pair of grey work slacks that fit.  At full price.   In polyester blend.  Which is something I pretty much never do.  Why, you may ask?

  • The two pairs of cotton/spandex work slacks I own have become too tight.  Until I lose some weight, I’m stuffing them in my hall closet with my winter coats.  I desperately needed something that I could wear to work now, at my current weight, that wouldn’t make me feel like I was suffocating.
  • I’ve been attempting unsuccessfully to thrift a pair of flattering, fitting work slacks for the past several months (really, since the beginning of the year).  For some reason, it’s been next to impossible to find non-polyester curvy slacks in a 12/14 at my local thrift/consignment stores.
  • I know that Gap Curvy works well for me, because my Gap Curvy jeans are pretty much my most comfortable and flattering jeans ever.  I knew that these slacks would work.
  • And the polyester.  You may know that I generally can’t stand polyester.  But as I said, I had no slacks that fit.  I went back to work full time a month and a half ago.  I desperately needed some professional slacks.  I could not find any in cotton/spandex.  The polyester content of these Gap slacks is 63%.  While that’s not ideal for me, it is acceptable given the circumstances.

Eventually, I’ll probably replace these slacks with some cotton blend ones and take them to a consignment shop.  Hopefully, the Gap will learn that some people don’t like polyester, and start offering some alternatives.  But until then, I at least have a decent pair of work slacks.

I had $114 left in my September (rolled over) budget.  Another $125 was added with the start of October.  So I started the week with $239.  The slacks were $59.50, so I now have $179.50 left.  I really need to get around to going on that shopping spree 🙂

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Budgeting and Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping Plan: Week 35

  1. I can so relate on trying to find flattering, non poly pants in a size 12/14 that don’t cost an arm and a leg. I managed to find one particular style at Kohls a couple of years go, so I bought every color/pattern then had in my size. I have no idea what I’m going to do when they wear out!

    Like

  2. GingerR says:

    Buy those running shoes! If lack of well-fitted running shoes are keeping your at home on your bum then you’ll be fixing several problems with one purchase – bum/pants not fitting. I know it’s more fun to many several little things, but in this case you’re missing something essential.

    Gap pants are worth paying full price if they fit and are the right length. I think polyester gets demonized unfairy in many contexts. They’ll wear better and keep a press nicely. I have a pair of all cotton Gap pants that wrinkle around the crotch when I wear them. So I dry clean them, which keeps them pressed through several wearings. But, this entails paying for the cleaning and getting the pants to the cleaners and back which is actually more of a problem for me. Polyester, in high quality fabrics is your friend for items that will look nice longer.

    BUT – now that you’ve got pants that fit get those shoes and get moving!

    Like

  3. Kristen says:

    I love my Gap pants so much, I can’t even believe it. I got the modern bootcuts — the curvy didn’t look as good on me, surprisingly enough — but I also just ordered a pair of the real skinnies too.

    Like

  4. Tara says:

    Go you! I still can’t bring myself to buy good work pants. Today I wore my Worthington (JCP) black trousers that have a high poly content and in the sunlight they are so oddly shiny and weird looking – they just give an air of cheapness. Perhaps I will make effort to replace them soon. The gap trousers look great. Like Ginger says, poly isn’t always bad – but it comes down to the blend and the ratio.

    Like

Comments are closed.