"Living is simple"

Right now, life is a crazy, hectic and over-stressed world, and I’m just trying to make it through it one day at a time.  Nothing particularly bad is happening, there’s just lots and lots of deadlines as the school year winds down,  lots of bored kids who don’t want to stay on task, and lots of stressed out fellow adults dealing with their own deadlines.  I know that this just goes with the territory as the school year comes to a close, so I’m just taking it one day at a time.

At this point, I’m trying to keep the rest of my life as simple as possible so that I can really focus on the important things and not get bogged down by clutter.  That includes physical, mental and emotional clutter.  I took a bunch of stuff to Goodwill during spring break.  I’ve started listing stuff I know longer use on eBay (if you’re interested, check out here.  It’s just shoes right now, but I might add books and other misc later).  I’ve been clearing mental clutter by cleaning out my inbox and cutting back on mailings that don’t interest me.  I’ve been trying to deal with some emotional clutter by getting rid of items that I was holding onto because I was trying to cling to a part of me that doesn’t fit anymore.  These items were things that used to be a strong part of my identity, but my identity has changed, and I think that they had simply become emotional weight that was bringing me down subconsciously.

I have a feeling that the tone of my blog is changing and evolving.  I don’t really like to write short, frequent posts anymore (and it’s difficult to find the time).  But I love to share with my readers (you!) and I love to express my thoughts and my journey through life in this blog.  I think my posting style is going to change to longer, deeper, but less frequent posts.  That’s just what works for me right now, and I think it’s best to go with the flow of how my life is rather than to stress myself out conforming to a pattern that doesn’t work for me.  We’ll see how it goes 🙂

Tank: Ann Taylor LOFT (Revolve)
Cardigan: J Crew (eBay)
Slacks: Gap
Shoes: Dansko Sally
Necklace: Urban Outfitters

Quote: Living is Simple, by Switchfoot

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me, Outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to "Living is simple"

  1. Shybiker says:

    Good idea to just let the blog evolve into what feels right. And longer posts are welcomed — your reflections are always thoughtful and interesting.

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    Yes, any posts are welcome in my book. I think I’m on a similar path right now, trying to unload some physical and emotional clutter myself. It takes time.

    Go with the flow, it’s the only way to go.

    Like

  3. Rebekah says:

    Good luck with all that end-of-school-year restlessness!

    “These items were things that used to be a strong part of my identity, but my identity has changed, and I think that they had simply become emotional weight that was bringing me down subconsciously.”

    Ah, it can be hard to part with those things, especially if your “old self” was cooler or happier or richer or who-know-what. Congratulations on making room for new identities, adventures, or even just nifty knick knacks.

    Like

  4. End of the year is always crazy!

    Love your necklace! 🙂

    Like

  5. alechia says:

    I’m loving that your hair is growing out! You are the only person I know that can pull of so many different do’s. It’s alright to declutter and reflect on things, I do it all the time. In fact, insensitively sometimes. We are all doing new things, changing into new people, and that is a fun adventure. So good luck and keep posting, I miss you!

    Like

Comments are closed.