#4: Quinoa and Edamame Salad, Raw Brittle

I have been chipping away at my 11 in 2011 project.  I’m still trying one new recipe a month, although some months are simpler than others.

For April, I tried out a recipe I found on a health food store blog.  I’ve since started making this almost every week, varying the vegetables depending on what I have, and usually serving it cold over spinach.

Quinoa is ridiculously easy to cook

Shelling edadamame – yum

I chop the carrots in my food processor because I’m lazy like that

Everything all mixed together = delicious awesomeness!!

For May, I decided to make up my own recipe, sort of.  I tried a sample of some raw pumpkin seed brittle at my favorite health food store, and it was amazingly good.  The price however ($12 for a tiny little package that might last a few days), not so good.  The ingredients seemed simple, and it’s raw, so I figured it would be easy to imitate.

Ingredients: pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, almonds, dried cranberries, agave nectar

I basically just mixed everything together in a bowl until I got proportions I liked.  I used a lot agave nectar to hold it all together.  I found that this tastes best cold, because it sticks together more.  And I eat it with a spoon (or with yogurt!), because it can get a bit messy.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Goals, Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #4: Quinoa and Edamame Salad, Raw Brittle

  1. Shybiker says:

    Quinoa!! My favorite new food!! So thrilled to see it on your blog!

    I’d be reading about quinoa for months and finally tried it in a fun vegetarian restaurant in NYC (Candle Cafe). I plan to try cooking it soon, so your post is very helpful. A major appeal it has to me is its incredible nuitritional content.

    It’s also very versatile in that you can combine it with numerous different ingredients to make various salads and different tastes. Your chosen ingredients sound delicious.

    Quinoa is usually spelled with the i before the n, but I’m sure your spelling is used in many places. And people usually mistake it for a grain like rice when, actually, it’s technically a seed and not a grain. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quinoa

    Thanks for the great post!

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    These look pretty tasty!

    I’ll have to print out this quinoa recipe because I keep buying packages of the stuff, but then when I see it sitting there in my pantry I can’t remember why I thought I needed it.

    Like

  3. Haley says:

    Good recipe.I think it’so good for our health.I will follow this on weekend.Hope that my family love this

    Like

  4. joe sevilia says:

    Hi Diana Thank you for sharing. I personally “not fit”Never with quinoa:) I do not know why, but that does not going me like that need. By the way, about the almonds, I used to put them in water for a few hours in, it always makes them more pleasant to eat. Good day –bili

    Like

Comments are closed.