Summer 11 in 2011: Wrap Up

Back in June, I posted a list of 11 goals I wanted to complete during my summer off.  I’ve been back at work for several weeks now, so I figured it was time to wrap up how I did.

Here’s my list:

  • Go kayaking: Unfortunately, this one didn’t happen.  I did manage to do some research and find out about locations that you can rent kayaks at, but I didn’t get around to doing any actual kayaking.  However, I am planning a kayaking trip with my dad soon.
  • Try hot yoga again: I only ended up going to two classes, but I still gave it a shot.
  • Ride my bike as often as possible: I didn’t ride as much as I should have, but I did get out on my bike at least three or four times this summer.
  • Swim laps at least once a week: I didn’t swim once a week, but I did go frequently and found that I really enjoy it.  I haven’t been back to the pool since school started, but I’m hoping to this week.
  • Read a ton of books: I read the books in the picture above plus at least four or five others.  Not bad for eight weeks off.
  • Go to the beach: Technically, I did go to the beach when I was in California, but I never visited any Florida beaches this summer.
  • Have a day hike/picnic: Did this one with my mom, nephews, and nephew’s mom.  Hopefully I’ll hike even more once the weather cools down.
  • Plant that garden from my 11 in 2011 listUmm, does planting two basil plants and not killing them count?
  • Save money: Meh.  Technically I did manage to save a little money this summer, but only about $200.  I didn’t get my credit card paid off either.  I blame this on an office/studio revamp and too many trips to IKEA.
  • Plan for next year: I did read some of the Battle Books this summer, but other than that, I didn’t really plan much for the school year.  I find that when I have time off, it’s really hard to get my brain back into work mode.
  • Finish knitting my sweater (11 in 2011 list): Check!  I can’t wait for the fall with this one.
So, I managed to really complete five of my goals, sorta completed most of the rest, and a couple I didn’t do at all.  Still, I had a great summer, so no regrets 🙂
About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me, Goals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer 11 in 2011: Wrap Up

  1. Shybiker says:

    Pretty good progress reports. The goal isn’t perfection but movement in the right directions — and you certainly achieved that. Feel proud!

    Like

  2. Rebekah says:

    I say you deserve a gold star for that striped sweater alone.

    Like

  3. Tara says:

    Did you enjoy Scat? I like his YA work but I love his grown-up stuff (except for Star Island, that was not so good). Good for you on completing so much – it kind of makes my summer look incredibly boring. I went swimming last weekend for the first time in forever and remembered how much I like it – definitely make more time for that!

    Like

Comments are closed.