Bento Box Saturday: 3-24-12

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday. Every once and awhile, I post photos of one or more of my bento lunches from that week.  I use a Laptop Lunches bento box and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create, since I don’t produce a lot of extra garbage from throw away packaging.  I also love how it creates perfect portion sizes.  To learn more about how I pack and carry my bento, check out this post and this post too*

  • Steak, Spinach and mozzarella frittata with organic ketchup
  • Lettuce, red bell pepper and feta salad
  • Celery, bell pepper sticks and cheddar
  • Greek yogurt with dark chocolate and maple syrup
  • Nectarine
  • Pistachios

While the yogurt looks amazing here, it ended up being less than awesome by the time I got to lunch.  The yogurt had gotten watery and a bit sour, and while the chocolate was able to cover up that a bit, it’s definitely much better fresh.  I think I’m switching to individual yogurt containers for lunch.  It just tastes better when it’s freshly opened.

  • Chicken Kourma
  • Broccoli and feta
  • Fresh strawberries with yogurt and a little sugar
  • Herbed Quinoa!!
  • Apple (not pictured)

Yay for the return of quinoa!!!!  I hadn’t eaten any in months because of my Paleo experiment.  While I’m definitely retaining a lot of aspects of the Paleo diets (mainly focusing on whole, natural foods and not being afraid of fats), I have been adding some whole grains back into my diet (no processed grains though).  And since quinoa is technically a seed, not a grain, it probably would have been okay anyhow.  I love to eat it like this: add in some salt, pepper and parsley, plus a bit of olive oil.  Delish 🙂

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.