Bento Box Saturday: 8-4-12

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday. Every once and awhile, I post photos of one or more of my bento lunches from that week.  I use a Laptop Lunches bento box and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create, since I don’t produce a lot of extra garbage from throw away packaging.  I also love how it creates perfect portion sizes.  To learn more about how I pack and carry my bento, check out this post and this post too*

  • Roast chicken drumstick and wing
  • Romaine, cuke and olive oil salad
  • Carrot sticks
  • Sliced gala apple with macadamia nut butter!!

Macadamia nuts are very popular in the Paleo/Primal community, and with good reason.  They have one of the best omega 3/6 ratios of any nut.  They’re delicious.  They have fiber and fat.  All of that awesomeness does make them a bit more pricey, but in my opinion, it’s worth it.  So when I discovered that one of my local health food stores had pure, raw macadamia nut butter, I plunked down the cash for it.  It wasn’t cheap, but OMG, it tastes amazing!  When I feel like splurging on a treat, this is what I will get from now on.

Greek salad

  • Greek salad with lamb gyro meat, homemade tzatziki, olives, feta, tomato, red onion
  • Hard boiled egg and carrot sticks
  • Rainier cherries and macadamia nut butter

Making homemade Greek salad from scratch really isn’t as hard as it would seem.  This lunch was all awesomeness.  Sometimes, I love leftovers.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bento Box Saturday: 8-4-12

  1. Bex says:

    Yum! I’ve never tried macadamia butter, it looks tasty! I love the salads.

    Like

  2. Franca says:

    Your boxes always look so delicious!

    Like

Comments are closed.