Summer 12 in 2012: Wrap-up

Pelicans at John’s Pass

While this week is the end of summer for everyone else, for me, summer ended two weeks ago when I started back up at work full time again.  I’ve been so busy, I hadn’t had a chance to re-cap my summer 12 in 2012 project.  So here’s my summary of my awesome summer.

#1 – Create a workout plan that I can continue in the school year

This summer, I discovered Crossfit, and I love it!  Since I started, I’ve been going regularly twice a week, and I’m seeing good results.  My clothes are fitting better, I have more energy, and I’m generally happier.  Plus, I was able to maintain going twice a week even during two of my busiest weeks of the year.  This is something that I can sustain.

I’m still biking and walking occasionally, and going to yoga once a week, too.

#2 –  Swim once a week

I did this consistently for the first half of the summer, and then discovered that, while I like being in the water, I don’t particularly like laps.  But it was still a learning experience.

New recipes I tried this summer

#3 –  Try one new Paleo recipe each week

The collage above features just some of the new recipes I tried this summer.  I’ve definitely expanded my cooking repertoire, and I’ve been continuing to try out new recipes now that the school year is back in session.  This summer really helped me fall in love with cooking again.

#4 –  Finally buy that co-op delivery subscription

Didn’t do this yet, but I did go to the farmer’s market almost every weekend.

#5 –  Start eating grass-fed and finished beef

Did, and then some.  I discovered how easy it is to buy my meats from local farmers, so now about 85% of all meats (chicken, beef, lamb, pork) I cook with at home are grassfed, pasture raised and local.  It’s more expensive that conventional meats, but less than meats from Whole Foods.  And I feel really good about it, because I know that the animals were treated well during their lives, and I’m supporting the local economy to boot.  Win!

#6 –  Ride my bike once a week, for pleasure or exercise (or both)

Did this every week during the summer and loved it.  I have to start making it a priority again now that I’m back at school.

#7 –  Organize the closets in my house

Front closet looks great and is easy to use now, linen closet is improved.

#8 –  Save $$ for car down-payment

Not quite what I was hoping for.  I have $450 saved up right now, but that’s actually my emergency fund, not my car fund.  I’m working with an afterschool program once a week now to have some extra money to save up.

#9 –  Make Renter’s Insurance notebook

I made a digital one with pictures and basic info.  Still need to add scans of receipts and isbn numbers, but at least it’s something.

#10 –  Go to the dentist! 

Did, though still paying it off.  I’m signing up for dental insurance this year.

#11 –  Plant a mini-herb garden

I’ve already used them in a couple recipes, and I’m hoping to add more plants soon.

#12 –  Buy some yarn and start a project

I made a tea cozy with some yarn I already had on hand.  I do really want to keep knitting, I  just have to really motivate myself to start some projects.

So there’s my summer for you.  It was awesome!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer 12 in 2012: Wrap-up

  1. You did so well on your list! Good job.

    Like

Comments are closed.