Bento Box Saturday: 10-13-12

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday. Most weeks, I post photos of some of my bento lunches from that week.  I generally use a Laptop Lunches bento box for my lunches and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create.  I also love how it makes for perfect portion sizes.  And my lunches look pretty cute too:)  To learn more about how I pack and carry my Laptop Lunches bento, check out this post.  I also use a LunchbotsTrio and Quad*

  • Grilled beef heart with sauce (from Fire it Up)
  • Salad with lettuce, avocado, feta, red bell pepper, red onions)
  • Red bell pepper and celery sticks
  • Apple. macadamia nuts

Organ meats are so good for you.  I want to learn to like them, I really do.  But the beef heart was just meh.  Like steak, but chewy and without all the tasty fat.  I wasn’t crazy about the sauce either.  I ate it, but only because I hate to waste food.  Still looking for some organ recipes that I will actually like, especially with liver.

  • Steak and bacon “stew”
  • Spinach and sauteed red cabbage
  • Carrots and avocado
  • Red grapes

One of the things I like to do with my bentos is make leftovers more interesting.  I had some leftover grilled steak that was a little dry.  I also had some leftover drippings for a chicken I roasted.  By combining them (and throwing in a little bacon, just because) I had a sort of stew.   The pale stuff you see is actually some solidified ghee from the chicken drippings, which melted when I heated it up.  Not the most visually appealing meal, but definitely tasty.

  •  Roasted chicken leg
  • Lettuce and sauteed red cabbage with calamata olives
  • Roasted onions and chicken drippings (to go on salad)
  • Roasted sweet potato with cinnamon

One of my favorite types of lunches: shred up the chicken and combine it with the salad.  Heat up the onions and drippings for “dressing” and add it to salad.  Big a** salad with sweet potato for dessert.  Awesome.

  • Avocado
  • Hard boiled eggs with paprika and sage salt
  • Red cabbage and broccoli

And a breakfast bento.  I really stretched out that sauteed red cabbage.  The recipe was from Practical Paleo (again) but I didn’t have granny smith apples, so I just sauteed the cabbage with onions.  I never really gave cabbage a shot until recently, and now I love it.  So good for you, and super cheap too.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bento Box Saturday: 10-13-12

  1. natalie says:

    We have been eating a lot of red cabbage too. Usually have it as sweet and sour with chicken.

    Like

Comments are closed.