Bento Box Saturday: 10-20-12

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday. Most weeks, I post photos of some of my bento lunches from that week.  I generally use a Laptop Lunches bento box for my lunches and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create.  I also love how it makes for perfect portion sizes.  And my lunches look pretty cute too:)  To learn more about how I pack and carry my Laptop Lunches bento, check out this post.  I also use a LunchbotsTrio and Quad*

  • Roasted chicken thigh
  • Spinach, tomato and hard boiled egg salad
  • Celery and carrot sticks
  • Roasted allium dip (via Practical Paleo)

Once again, I found another new favorite recipe in  Practical Paleo.  Roasted allium spread is super easy to make and insanely delicious.  You roast onions and a head of garlic, blend it all together with olive oil and seasoning, and you have a delicious dip/spread.  Perfect for spreading on meat or dipping veggies into.

Breakfast bento

  • Hard boiled eggs with sage and paprika
  • Chopped avocado
  • Red bell pepper sticks
  • Roasted sweet potatoes (via Practical Paleo)

Yet another standard breakfast bento.  I try to change up the veggies I bring each week to keep the hard-boiled eggs from getting too boring.  Do you know of some other ways to make hard boiled eggs a little more interesting?  I’m worried that I might start to tire of them.

  • Roast pork shoulder
  • Green beans with roasted pearl onions
  • Red bell pepper and carrot sticks
  • Grapes

This is now my new favorite way to prepare green beans.  I steam them as usual, then top them with roasted pearl onions and generous amounts of ghee with a little salt and pepper.  Amazing, and so much tastier than plain green beans.

 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bento Box Saturday: 10-20-12

  1. Jamie says:

    I don’t particularly care for hard boiled eggs, but have been eating quite a lot of them since moving to paleo diet so I’m anxious to see what suggestions your readers have to liven things up a bit.

    I often make an egg salad using either the baconnaise recipe found in Practical Paleo or regular paleo mayo with a little dijon mustard, a splash or two or vinegar for some zing, chopped onion, celery and green pepper and seasoning and serve either over a bed of spinach or roll up in lettuce leaves.

    Like

Comments are closed.