Bento Box Saturday: 11-24-12

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday. Most weeks, I post photos of some of my bento lunches from that week.  I generally use a Laptop Lunches bento box for my lunches and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create.  I also love how it makes for perfect portion sizes.  And my lunches look pretty cute too:)  To learn more about how I pack and carry my Laptop Lunches bento, check out this post.  I also use a LunchbotsTrio and Quad*

  • Frittata with kalamata olives, ketchup
  • Romaine Lettuce

Oh how I love frittatas.  I really need to cook them more often.

Tasty and colorful, just how I like it.  The mayo and garlic dip came out a bit runny, but maybe I just haven’t mastered homemade mayo yet?  I’ve tried several recipes, but my mayo always comes out watery.

  • Stuffed bell peppers (via Practical Paleo)
  • Sauteed kale and mushrooms
  • Herbal tea gelatin (via Practical Paleo)
  • Green apple with almonds and dark chocolate

This was my first time ever making stuffed bell peppers, and I was surprised at how easy it was.  I get local, grassfed ground beef a lot because it’s one of the most affordable ways to get pastured meat, but I get tired of taco salads and bunless burgers every week.  This is a nice and tasty way to change things up.

Breakfast Bento

  • Carrot and celery sticks
  • Hard boiled eggs with dill
  • Apple cider brined pork chops
  • Smashed avocado

I don’t actually make proper guacamole very often.  While I think it’s amazing, I usually want to just eat my avocado.  So instead of making true guac, I just put some salt, pepper, and garlic powder on my avocado and smash it with a fork.  Tastes awesome, takes way less time.

 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.