21DSD/ Whole30: Day 3

The

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

*During the month of January, I’m doing a Whole30 combined with a 21 Day Sugar Detox.   This is to help me reset my system, deal with my love of sugar, and generally feel healthier and happier.  Want more info on these programs?  Click on the images above*

Day 3: January 3, 2013

  • Breakfast: Spinach, 2 hard boiled eggs, garlic browned beef and bison (recipe from Well Fed),  1 avocado, and sauerkraut, mayo and paprika dressing
  • Lunch: Beef stew (recipe from Well Fed) with cauliflower and spinach,  Pumpkin pancakes (Practical Paleowith coconut butter and 1/2 green tipped banana
  • Dinner: Mediterranean Salmon Salad from Panera with no oranges, feta or store dressing (I brought my own balsamic vinaigrette made from scratch)
  • Snacks: Macadamia nuts with coconut flakes and half a banana, kalamata olives, hard boiled egg
  • Beverages: Green tea, herbal tea, water with lemon, 4 oz kombucha, 4 oz coconut water


Day three was the hardest so far.  I felt restless and a little foggy headed all day.  The overcast weather outside didn’t help.  It felt hard to get things done. I ended up snacking a lot oon fatty snacks that helped to keep me from craving too much.  And I definitely indulged intthe extras that are allowed on the 21DSD – a green tipped banana, pumpkin pancakes, kombucha and coconut water.  I made it through just fine.

This experiment is really opening my eyes to how much crap people put in food.  I went out to dinner at Panera with my mom,  future mother-in-law and step-mother-in-law to work on planning for the wedding.  I figured I would be able to find plenty to eat there.  I did my research beforehand and looked up nutrition facts and ingredient lists.  Almost everything had soy, wheat, milk or sugar in it somewhere.  Like basically everything except the salad pictured – which I still had to have several things removed from.  My advice to anyone going out to eat on a Whole 30 or 21DSD – 1) do research ahead of time, 2) don’t be afraid to ask for modifications, 3) bring your own dressing.  By the way, that salmon salad was delicious and totally worth the research done beforehand!

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Goals, Health/Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.