21DSD/ Whole30: Days 5-6

The

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

*During the month of January, I’m doing a Whole30 combined with a 21 Day Sugar Detox.   This is to help me reset my system, deal with my love of sugar, and generally feel healthier and happier.  Want more info on these programs?  Click on the images above*

Day 5: January 5, 2013

  • Breakfast: (post workout) Greens, sauerkraut, poached eggs, 1/2 cup sweet potato
  • Lunch: Chicken taco salad
  • Dinner: Creamy spice market kale (recipe from Well Fed), roasted cauliflower, Salmon cakes (Practical Paleo)
  • Snacks: Pumpkin pancakes with coconut butter and cinnamon  (Practical Paleo)
  • Beverages: Green tea, herbal tea, water with lemon, 4 oz kombucha, Coco-monkey green smoothie (21DSD manual)

Day 6: January 6, 2013

  • Breakfast: Garlic browned ground beef, poached eggs, avocado, spinach
  • Lunch: Salmon cake salad
  • Dinner: forgot to take a picture 😦
  • Snacks: Pumpkin pancakes with coconut butter and cinnamon  (Practical Paleo)
  • Beverages: Green tea, herbal tea, water with lemon, 4 oz kombucha, Coco-monkey green smoothie (21DSD manual), macadamia nuts with coconut flakes and cacao nibs


I’ll cover days 7-10 tomorrow, focusing mainly on my bentos.  I’m doing pretty good with this.  Eating this way is starting to feel normal now.  I haven’t achieved the magical energy everyone talks about.  I have been sleeping excellently though, despite food related dreams.  It’s weird, but since I’ve started, I’ve been having dreams about the 21 DSD.  In one dream, I was in the grocery store and was stressing out because they were out of green apples and green-tipped bananas.  In another, I compulsively ate some m&m’s without thinking, and in another, I ate some fast food chicken nuggets.  Those last two dreams are really weird to me, because I haven’t eaten or craved food like that in months. The only cravings I’ve been having lately are for more fruit.  I still feel confident that I will have a lot of benefits from the 21DSD in the long run, even though I haven’t seen much of a difference yet.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Goals, Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21DSD/ Whole30: Days 5-6

  1. Sage says:

    Haha, your food dreams are hilarious! I could just imagine you screaming at some poor grocery store clerk, “What do you mean there are no green apples???” Glad you reached the magical energy part of your detox. You’re doing awesome!

    Weirdly, I dream about eating handfuls of M&Ms too even though I’ve been a vegan for years…and I didn’t really like M&Ms when I used to eat them. I also have a recurring dream where all my teeth fall out (scary!).

    Like

  2. Pingback: The 21 Day Sugar Detox: Why I’m at it again | Smiles Go With Everything

Comments are closed.