21DSD/Whole 30: Days 7-11 in bentos

The

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

*During the month of January, I’m doing a Whole30 combined with a 21 Day Sugar Detox.   This is to help me reset my system, deal with my love of sugar, and generally feel healthier and happier.  Want more info on these programs?  Click on the images above*

Day 7: January 7, 2013

Spinach and sauerkraut, hard boiled eggs with paprika, garlic browned ground beef, avocado

Taco chicken, romaine salad with tomatoes and olives, carrot sticks with mayo, green tipped banana

1st day back at work was pretty darn easy.  When I’m working, there’s plenty to distract me, so I don’t really think about food too much.  I just eat what I bring with me – cafeteria food has no desirability for me.  I noticed that I was always craving something sweet after lunch, so I’ve started drinking licorice tea.  I used to hate licorice, but lately I’ve been loving  it.  It has a sweet flavor without any sugar.

Day 8: January 8, 2013

Roasted cauliflower and spinach, chicken and egg scramble, avocado

Salad with chicken quarter and kalamata olives, roasted cauliflower, baked beets and fennel (Practical Paleo)

My favorite part of the 21DSD/Whole 30 is trying new things.  Or at least new ways of doing things.  Back when I used to frequently sandwich places, I always loved to get banana peppers on my salads.  But for some reason, when I stopped eating bread, it didn’t dawn on me that I could still buy and eat banana peppers.  When I was getting ready for this food challenge, I read on several blogs that they were a good thing to add to meals to add flavor.  Love!  They’re awesome.

Day 9: January 9, 2013

Avocado, hard boiled eggs with paprika, roasted chicken, spinach and sauerkraut

Salmon cakes and kalamata olives, spinach and tomato salad, carrots and mayo, baked beets and fennel

During the week, most of my meals tend to be pretty similar.  And I’m okay with that.  I find little ways of spicing them up and making them different, even if the main elements are the same.  Like adding different spices to things.  Or new garnishes.

Day 10: January 10, 2013

Avocado, roasted cauliflower and green beans, chicken and egg scramble

Salmon cakes with spinach, sauerkraut, tomatoes and kalamata olives, carrots and mayo, baked beet and fennel

My meat and egg scramble is a new variation I’ve been trying with breakfast.  I chop up a hard boiled egg, chop up some meat, and mix the together with a little salt, and sometimes some olive oil.  It’s delicious, and it’s a great way to eat hard boiled eggs without getting bored.

Day 11: January 11, 2013

Frittata and avocado with tomato slices

Roasted chicken, carrots and mayo, romaine with cauliflower and hard boiled egg, baked beets and fennel

You may have noticed I ate a lot of beets this week.  While they are super good for you, beets are also very sweet, so only one cup per day is allowed.  I’ve been having about half a cup with lunch everyday as my “dessert”.  It helps me to feel a little more satisfied and a little less likely to crave sugar.

 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes, Goals, Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21DSD/Whole 30: Days 7-11 in bentos

  1. Sage says:

    Your bento box meals are so cute and organized. Licorice seems to be one of those flavors that people either love or hate, no middle ground. I’ve loved licorice all my life.

    Like

  2. Clara says:

    I’m so fascinated by the idea of the paleo diet, and I LOVE seeing your colorful meals! How do you keep your avocado from turning brown? Do you squeeze on some lemon juice or do you have another secret?

    Like

Comments are closed.