New birthday things

It was my birthday on Monday, so I celebrated by getting myself some new things.  Some, like this dress, were new new, others were new to me.

I hardly ever buy clothes new.  Most of my clothes shopping is done through thrifting, vintage, consignment stores and eBay. On the occasions I do buy new, I usually just shop the sales rack.  But I had some birthday money and I wanted to buy something special, something well-made and versatile that I knew would become a staple.  When shopping at the mall with my husband (I love saying that!), I found this beautiful damask prink black and white dress at LOFT.  I didn’t think it would fit, since shift dresses don’t usually work for me, but he encouraged me to try it on, and it’s perfect!  Long enough to wear to work, substantial enough fabric to be dressed up or down, a neutral print that goes with everything.  I’m going to have the top taken in just a bit for a better fit, but otherwise I couldn’t have asked for a better dress for me.  The price was way more than I’m used to spending (around $75) but I already know that I will absolutely get my money’s worth out of this one.

My other birthday purchases were on the opposite end of the spectrum.  I’ve had a tradition over the past several years of going thrifting on my birthday, and I continued that tradition this year.  I don’t know if it’s because it’s my birthday, but I always seem to get good thrifting karma each year.  This one was no exception.  I got several new staples for my wardrobe: a khaki Express skirt that I know I’ll wear a ton, an orange stripey Ann Taylor Factory skirt with a matching orange Eddie Bauer cardigan,  a ruffled Design History black top and some checkered shorts that I’m going to hem.  But my favorite find of the trip had nothing to do with fashion.  I’ve been wanting a vintage West Bend ceramic pot ever since I knew they existed, but had yet to find one at the right price. Buying online makes for expensive shipping, and the only ones I’d seen locally had been their bean cookers, which wasn’t what I wanted.  But sitting right on the shelf at Salvation Army was the exact one I wanted, in perfect condition, on sale for $3!!!  Needless to say, I was ecstatic!

My thrifting finds

Here’s my beautiful vintage cookware display in my kitchen.  I actually use all of the stuff pictured too.  Vintage cookware is so much more fun.  Note the Le Creuset dutch oven – just got that one with wedding money for a mere $43 on eBay – they retail for over $200!  That’s homebrew kombucha fermenting in the bottles, which are IKEA, not vintage.

My vintage kitchen

While life has been ridiculously busy lately, it has also been very, very good.

Dress: Ann Taylor LOFT
Cardigan: J. Crew (via eBay)
Shoes: Vivobarefoot Kalis
Purse: Morelle
Watch: Fossil

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New birthday things

  1. Sage says:

    Happy birthday! That dress is lovely. It’s important to do something special for yourself on your birthday. Nice thrift haul too!

    Like

Comments are closed.