Bento Box Saturday: January

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday. Most weeks, I post photos of some of my bento lunches from that week.  I use a Laptop Lunches bento box for my lunches and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create.  I also love how it makes for perfect portion sizes.  And my lunches look pretty cute too:)  To learn more about how I pack and carry my Laptop Lunches bento, check out this post.  I  use a LunchbotsTrio and Quad for my breakfasts*

Since I was a little bit busy in the month of January getting ready for this to happen, I kind of neglected posting my bento boxes.  But believe me, I was making and eating plenty of them.  I think it’s even more important than ever when you’re busy and stressed out to make sure that you’re eating lots of healthy food.  So here’s a sampling of my bentos from that month (which are all Whole30 compliant.  Most of them are 21DSD compliant too.)

Jan 14 Breakfast

  • Post-workout – 1/2 cup sweet potatoes
  • 1 whole avocado
  • 1/4 c sauerkraut
  • Chicken and hard-boiled egg “scramble”

There were many new things I learned during the Whole30 experience.  One of which, is chopping up hard boiled eggs and meat and mixing them together.  Even though they’re still the same ingredients that were in my bentos before, the taste is new and awesome.

Jan 14 lunch

  • Shredded pork
  • Spinach, yellow tomato and olive salad with olive oil
  • Red bell pepper and carrot sticks with olive oil mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Roasted beets and fennel (via Practical Paleo)

Another reason to love veggie deliveries: yellow tomatoes!  Same great taste, beautiful different color.

Jan 15 lunch

  • Grassfed beef burger with spinach, tomato, olive and banana pepper salad
  • Celery and carrot sticks with olive oil mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Roasted beets and fennel (via Practical Paleo)

I usually like to have a little fruit for dessert with my lunches, so roasted beets became my new default “dessert”.  Not exactly as good, but certainly not too bad when it’s just 21 days.

Jan 16 breakfast

  • Hard boiled eggs with paprika and cumin
  • Greens with sauerkraut and red bell peppers
  • 1 whole avocado

Pretty much a standard breakfast for me there.

 

Jan 24 lunch

  • Shredded pork carnitas
  • Greens, red bell pepper and olive salad
  • Carrot sticks and radishes with olive oil mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Moo-less mousse (via Practical Paleo) with sliced bananas

After going 21 days without sweets, I was ready for some treats.  Even though it’s relatively low in sugar, this dairy-free mousse tasted absolutely decadent.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes, Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bento Box Saturday: January

  1. Sage says:

    I’m not sure I could last that long without sweets! As much as I love beets, they don’t compare to a cupcake. 🙂

    I think yellow tomatoes are awesome too. It’s fun to try new vegetables instead of the same old things.

    Like

Comments are closed.