Kitchen Tip: Freeze your ginger

Just freeze it!

Just freeze it!

I don’t remember where exactly I read this, but this kitchen tip has changed the way I see curry, ginger infused tea and everything else I use ginger in.  It used to be, my ginger often went bad before I used it all.  Or it lost its flavor.  Chopping ginger was always frustrating, because I could never get it minced enough.  Sometimes I’d use my food processor, which minced it well, but left me with one more thing to clean.

The answer: freeze your ginger.  It lasts much, much longer.  And you can use a microplane to finely zest it, which works perfect for pretty much anywhere you want fresh ginger.  You don’t even have to peel it.

What’s your favorite recipe with ginger in it?

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kitchen Tip: Freeze your ginger

  1. Shybiker says:

    Good idea. It never occurred to me to freeze it. Like you, I’ve had fresh ginger go bad from waiting too long to use it. I put only a tiny bit in tea or food, so I rarely use it all up quickly. Thanks for the tip.

    Like

  2. Sage says:

    I’m always surprised by how many things can be frozen. I freeze a lot of my meals and fruit for smoothies.

    My favorite recipe with ginger? Gingerbread cookies! 🙂

    Like

  3. Tara says:

    I can’t remember where I learned that trick either. Recently I whipped up an Asian slaw with a dressing made from soy sauce, ponzu, rice wine vinegar, peanut butter, garlic, scalllions, and ginger. I had no idea how it would turn out, but it was actually great!

    Like

Comments are closed.