Bento Box Saturday: 5-11-13

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday!  Most Saturdays, I post photos of some of my bento lunches and breakfasts that I’ve made recently.  I use a Laptop Lunches bento box for my lunches and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create.  I also love how it makes for perfect portion sizes.  And my lunches look pretty cute too:)  To learn more about how I pack and carry my Laptop Lunches bento, check out this post.  I  use a Lunchbots Trio and Quad for my breakfasts*

4-25-13 Lunch

4-25-13 Lunch, Whole30 friendly

  • Braised beef shanks (recipe coming soon!)
  • Mashed cauliflower (via Practical Paleo)
  • Cucumber and carrot sticks with mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Fresh strawberries

So, this was my first time making mashed cauliflower.  I made it in the food processor, and it reminded me more of grits than mashed potatoes.  Not bad, but not exactly what I wanted.  I might try some more recipes or a different method of preparation.

5-2-13 lunch

5-2-13 lunch, Whole30 friendly

One of my favorite things about getting a weekly produce delivery from one of our local farms is the variety.  So many times, I get items that I would normally not pick up at the grocery store.  These blackberries are one example.  I hardly ever buy berries other than strawberries.  These were a welcome surprise, and they were super delicious too.

5-6-13 breakfast

5-6-13 breakfast, Whole30 friendly

  • Avocado
  • Sweet potato and sauerkraut (via Practical Paleo)
  • Chopped hard boiled eggs

I love me some red cabbage sauerkraut.

4-29-13 lunch

4-29-13 lunch, Whole30 friendly

  • Cuban picadillo
  • Mashed cauliflower (via Practical Paleo)
  • Carrot and celery sticks with mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Bananas and strawberries

Those chives were another produce delivery bonus.  I hardly ever bother to garnish things, but it really makes eating just that much nicer.

4-29-13 breakfast

4-29-13 breakfast, Whole30 friendly

  •  Guacamole
  • Chopped hard boiled eggs
  • Sweet potato and sauerkraut

I’ve been experimenting with buying avocado on sale, smashing it and freezing it.  But it kind of changes the texture, and I find that I don’t like it as much on it’s own.  However, I think frozen avocado could be fine for making chocolate avocado pudding.  Yum!

 

signature

 

 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bento Box Saturday: 5-11-13

  1. Shybiker says:

    Interesting ideas. I love cauliflower but its preparation is key. I never tried it mashed and am careful not to overcook it. Freezing avocado is unknown to me; I can’t see how that would work. I prefer mine fresh. Changing its texture wouldn’t be good. It’s fun to read all your cool ideas about food.

    Like

  2. Sage Grayson says:

    I agree that mashed cauliflower is more like grits than mashed potatoes. I still love it though! 🙂 I’ve been eating avocado on toast and in my green smoothies, and I recently had avocado pudding at an event–yum!

    Like

  3. Terry says:

    I love your blog! I hope you’ll share your cuban picadillo recipe.

    Like

  4. cee elac says:

    I love your bento recipe ideas, thanks for the post. I want to try 5-2-13 lunch, but making it a little bit special by using traditional bento box that I got from here: http://www.katachiware.com.au/bento-boxes.html
    I would like to give it as lunch treat to friend who’s having a birthday few days from now.

    Like

Comments are closed.