Bento Box Saturday: 9-14-13

*Welcome to Bento Box Saturday!  Most Saturdays, I post photos of some of my bento lunches and breakfasts that I’ve made recently.  I use a Laptop Lunches bento box for my lunches and I love it because it helps me to reduce the amount waste I create.  I also love how it makes for perfect portion sizes.  And my lunches look pretty cute too:)  To learn more about how I pack and carry my Laptop Lunches bento, check out this post.  I  use a Lunchbots Trio and Quad for my breakfasts*

Back to school bentos! I’ve been back at work this past month (which is why the blog has been a bit quiet) and I’m loving it. I’m also back to my regular bento schedule.  I recently bought a second set of bento buddies and a bento box (did you know Laptop Lunches is available at Whole Foods?  I was super excited when I found this out.) so now I’m making two days worth of bentos at a time, and have even more fun color combinations I can put together.

August 11, 2013

August 11, 2013

  • Lamb keema with white potatoes
  • Spinach and tomato salad
  • Celery and carrot sticks with liver pate  (via Practical Paleo)
  • Beets with vinegar

I know a lot of people don’t consider white potatoes Paleo.  But a lot of figures in the ancestral health community that I look up to are okay with them, and I don’t eat them a ton.  They work for me, so I’m okay with them.  Anyway, this lunch was super tasty.

August 12, 2013 - Whole30, 21DSD friendly

August 12, 2013 – Whole30, 21DSD friendly

  • Salad with canned wild salmon, romaine, tomatoes, olives, homemade pickles
  • Celery and carrot sticks with liver pate (via Practical Paleo)
  • Beets with coconut butter

When I need a fast, easy meal, I open a can of wild salmon and make a salad with it.  Done.  Also, I’ve learned that letting coconut butter harden in a cold lunch box means that you can take it out and eat it like a candy bar.  OMG it’s amazingly delicious.

August 13, 2013 Whole30 friendly

August 13, 2013 Whole30 friendly

  • Apple streusel egg muffins (via Practical Paleo)
  • Avocado and roasted red bell pepper puree
  • Sweet potatoes and bananas

Since ketchup has sugar in it, I sometimes use roasted red bell pepper puree as a substitute.  And I think I actually like it better.

August 21, 2013 - Whole30 friendly

August 21, 2013 – Whole30 friendly

  • Pot roast
  • Cucumber and red bell pepper salad
  • Carrot sticks with mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Mango and grapes

Mango is pretty much the best fruit ever.  My mouth waters just thinking about it.

August 26, 2013 - Whole30 friendly

August 26, 2013 – Whole30 friendly

  • Shredded chicken
  • Tomato, olive and cucumber salad
  • Carrot sticks with mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Banana

One awesome thing about joining a CSA is that I actually have things to make garnish.  I normally never bother with making my food look extra pretty.  But when you have a bunch of curly parsley, who can resist?

August 27, 2013 - Whole30 friendly

August 27, 2013 – Whole30 friendly

  • Salad with shredded chicken, tomatoes, cucumber and olives
  • Carrot sticks with mayo (via Well Fed)
  • Orange

And sometimes I make two bentos that are more or less the same.  It makes my life easier, as I can make both bentos at once.  And I add little variations, like the orange, to keep things interesting.

signature

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Bento Boxes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bento Box Saturday: 9-14-13

  1. Shybiker says:

    What cool ideas. I’ve never had hardened coconut butter. And mango!

    Like

  2. laniza says:

    I love mango! Like you said, it’s the best!

    Like

Comments are closed.