Getting my groove back…

Shells on the shore of the Hillsborough River

Shells on the shore of the Hillsborough River

*Or how I really didn’t fall off the face of the earth this last month.*

I enjoy blogging.  I like having a space where I can share my thoughts and my life with you guys, my readers.  But sometimes, real life has to take priority.  I didn’t really intend to stop blogging for a month; it just happened.

There haven’t been any major crisis’s or any major health issues.  Work is fine.

So what’s been going on?  Work has been very busy, but fulfilling.  I’ve come to love my job again, after having a little bit of doubt before.  Working with middle schoolers, getting books into their hands, helping them discover knowledge – I love it.  Plus, it gives me an excuse to read tons of YA in my free time.  But I’ve been working hard, and all 40 hours a week that I spend at work are working, no time to troll Etsy, Pinterest or check Facebook.  Which is fine, because I love my job.

Food wise, I’ve been eating Paleo, but experimenting with some foods that aren’t traditionally Paleo.  I’ve been trying grassfed dairy, I had a failed experiment with quinoa, and I went without eggs for ten days just to see what would happen (more on that later).  I’ve also been consciously adding more nutrient dense foods into my diet, like homemade bone broth, liver, grassfed butter and of course, kombucha.

Health wise, I’ve been trying to learn to slow down.  For the past month or so, I’ve been tired, a lot.  Part of that is stress osmosis from my husband being in grad school.  Part of it is stress from taking on too many responsibilities at work.  I would go to Crossfit once, maybe twice a week, and just feel spent.  I would take a nap as soon as I got home from work, and fall asleep in front of the tv.  I’ve been consistently getting less than 8 hours of sleep most nights.  And it’s been taking a toll on me.

After hearing her interview on the Balanced Bites podcast, I began reading Sara Gottfried’s The Hormone Cure.  And it looks like I have a lot of the signs of cortisol issues, both high and low.  While I do plan on testing my levels, for now, I’ve been doing what I can to get my stress (and cortisol) under control.  I’m taking a break from Crossfit (intense exercise can raise cortisol), I’ve cut back on caffeine.  I’ve been walking everyday.  I’ve been adding a little yoga into my routine at home.

I’m finally starting to feel like I’m back in control again.  Of course, all things are a process.  So, I’m hoping to get back on here more and share more about my life with you.  Maybe the types of posts I write will change – I see this blog as an evolving being, not a static entity.  Thanks for hanging in there with me.  I’m not going away.

 

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting my groove back…

  1. Sage Grayson says:

    Glad to see you back here! 🙂 I agree that blogs change and evolve over time.

    Like

Comments are closed.