14 in 2014: Watch a TED Talk

**Every season, I post a set of goals that I set out to accomplish. I track my progress here on my blog. I like the challenge of setting goals – it helps me to accomplish so much more. This post features my Winter 14 goals**

Picking out my first TED talk

Picking out my first TED talk

 

I’ve been hearing about how awesome TED talks are for the longest time, but I had never bothered to sit down and watch one.  For my Winter 14, I decided to do just that.  I had saved links to several good TED talks for educators, and decided to watch Ken Robinson’s talk on whether or not education kills creativity.  Here it is if you’re interested.

I ended up listening to the talk on my iPhone while taking notes on my iPad.  I really enjoyed the talk, and have already bookmarked several others I want to listen too.  I think this might be a nice weekly ritual for me, like watching a talk every Sunday morning.  I was also pleased to discover that there;s a great variety in the length of TED talks;  some are only a couple minutes, others are closer to half an hour.  I’ve heard of teachers using shorter TED talks in lessons – I might look into some ways I can incorporate them into my teaching.  I’m working on a post on my librarian blog reflecting on this TED talk.  I think a lot about creativity in education, and I’ve got a lot to say on this topic.

 

signature

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 14 in 2014: Watch a TED Talk

  1. Shybiker says:

    Thanks for the comment, Diana. I keep telling everyone — wigs aren’t only for boys!

    Like

Comments are closed.