14 in 2014: Try four new recipes, Part 2

Meat gravy!

Meat gravy!

**Every season, I post a set of goals that I set out to accomplish. I track my progress here on my blog. I like the challenge of setting goals – it helps me to accomplish so much more. This post features my Winter 14 goals**

When I was a in first grade, we had to fill out a worksheet about our favorite things.  I very clearly remember what I wrote as my favorite food: my mom’s mashed potatoes with meat gravy.  This gravy was made with ground beef and a can of cream of mushroom soup, plus other stuff that I don’t remember.  It was SO good.  I’ve missed that flavor for years.  It’s been a long time since I’ve eaten anything with cream of mushroom soup – one look at the ingredients label is enough to scare me away.  So this weekend, I decided to try to recreate this childhood favorite using natural, whole ingredients.

Reliving my childhood

Reliving my childhood

I made traditional mashed potatoes (not officially “paleo”, but it’s all whole foods), and heated up some peas.  For the gravy, I fried up some bacon (why not?), and then browned the ground beef in bacon grease.  I chopped up the bacon, chopped up some portobellos, onions and garlic, and sauteed it all together.  I then added vegetable broth (I’d rather use homemade beef stock, but I didn’t have any on hand), simmered it, added some arrowroot starch to thicken it, and finally added a little heavy cream.

The results: Amazing!  It’s so, so good, and even my husband likes it.  This will be making a regular rotation in my kitchen now.

signature

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Food, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.