Winter 14 Wrap-up

The Winter 14

Yes, I disappeared from the Interwebs for awhile there.  I’ve been spending so much time focused on my career (and my library blog) that Smiles Go With Everything got neglected.  I’m sorry.  I only have so much energy, and lately I’ve just been spent.  I’m still trying to figure out the new direction for Smiles Go With Everything.  I need to find a blogging flow for it and I’m just not there yet.  I’m still not giving up on it, I just need to do some reflecting.

Meanwhile, it’s now Spring and time to think and reflect on Winter and my Winter 14 goals.

PERSONAL/ HOME

  • Blog on Smiles Go With Everything at least 2x week – Well obviously, this didn’t happen at all.
  • Frog an old project and knit something new – I’m knitting and reknitting a scarf right now, and I’ve also started on a blanket with some yarn from a sweater I never wore.
  • Do some serious mending and alterations – I got a lot done in this realm.  Still more projects to work on, but my to-do pile is a lot smaller now

FOOD

  • Plant 2nd veggie garden – The weather was pretty rotten this winter.  I just never got around to this.
  • Try 4 new recipes and blog them – For some reason I have NOT been motivated to cook these past couple months.  Just getting by with my regular recipes has been all I wanted to do.

HEALTH

  • Walk 10,000 steps each day – Turns out I was pretty much already doing this anyhow
  • Go to Yoga class five times during the season– I bought the class package and never went 😦
  • Make or buy some blackout curtains for the bedroom – Done!  And it’s made a huge difference

FINANCIAL

  • Use Mint to set a budget – Done, mostly.  I still go over budget sometimes, but I’m more aware of where my money goes.
  • Pay off that credit card!!! – A couple more paychecks and this one will be done too.

CAREER

  • Join a Twitter chat – Done many times over!  I’ve been really focused on my career this season, and professional Twitter chats have been a part of it.
  • Watch a TED talk– Done many times over.  TED talks are becoming a Sunday ritual for me.

SPIRITUAL

  • Download a meditation app and try it out – Downloaded but never used.  Maybe trying this would actually help other areas of my life.
  • Attend a local  meditation class – Not even close.  I’ve been way too busy lately.

Overall evaluation: I’ve been busy and have had no energy to do anything but focus on my job.  I LOVE my job, but I need to find some more balance in my life too.  Not quite ready to commit to Spring goals yet, but they will definitely involve finding more balance in life.

About Diana

Style maven, knitter, crafter, seamstress, one who does not walk the beaten path.
This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.